Event Preview: Men’s 3m Synchro

10th April 2013

While they have only formed a synchronised partnership this season, China’s Qin Kai and He Chong have enjoyed immediate success, winning both previous legs of this season’s FINA/Midea Diving World Series.

Projected Start List

Click an athlete's name to find out more about their World Series results and stats.

The pair have been world leaders in springboard diving for the past decade, lifting 16 Olympic and World Championship medals between them since 2005.

With 20 gold medals since 2007, Qin may be a veteran of the synchronised event at World Series level but his score of 480.33 with He at the second leg in Dubai was the highest men’s 3m Synchro score in World Series history.

It also topped his gold-medal winning scores from the 2011 World Championships, 2012 World Cup and last year’s Olympic Games.

Add to that the fact that a Chinese pairing has never finished anything other than first in this event in World Series history, and it’s fair to say Qin and He will be favourites in Edinburgh.

Ukraine’s 2008 Olympic bronze medallists Illya Kvasha and Oleksiy Prygorov are an in-form partnership, having won silver at the last leg in Dubai, where Kvasha also became just the third non-Chinese male diver to win World Series individual 3m gold.

Mexico’s Yahel Castillo is one of the remaining two to have that individual accolade (the other being Canada’s Alexandre Despatie) and he teams up with Julian Sanchez - his partner for WOrld Championship bronze in 2011 – for the first time this season.

Great Britain’s Chris Mears and Nick Robinson-Baker earned their first World Series medal together with silver at the Tijuana leg in 2012 and will be hoping for a repeat of the form which saw them finish fifth at London 2012 last year.

American brothers Troy and Dwight Dumais are making their debut as a partnership on the World Series this season and finished an encouraging fourth at the last leg in Dubai while Malaysia’s Ooi Tze Liang will be making his World Series debut with Ahmad Amsyar Azman.

  • Start list is provisional and may be subject to changes