Go Swimming has everything you need to know about swimming. If you are a parent, a non swimmer or just want to improve your technique this is the section for you.

In British Swimming you will find information about the world of high performance sport, including the disciplines of Swimming, Diving, Synchronised Swimming, Water Polo and Para-Swimming.

The ASA is the governing body for the sport in England. In this section you will find all you need to know about joining a club or competing in England and becoming a swimming teacher or coach.

The IoS delivers the ASA’s courses and is a member organisation. Whether you are a teacher, coach, employer or club you will find everything you need to know about qualifications or educating your workforce.

Accessibility - Text Only - Display Options - Accessibility

Functional Ability Cards

Functional Ability Cards were introduced to aid disability swimmers access British Swimming/ASA/WASA/SASA and licensed competitions. Read on to find out more.

The ASA introduced Functional Ability Cards (FACs) to assist competitive swimmers with a disability to access British Swimming/ASA/WASA/SASA and licensed competitions.

By using the card, competitors can be safe in the knowledge that they will not be disqualified if their disability precludes them from performing a stroke to the relevant parts of FINA swimming rules.

The card is also an integral part of the records and rankings system for disability swimmers. FACs act as identification and proof of classification and rule exceptions.
They must be submitted to the race referee prior to the start of the race for times to be recognised for records, rankings and programme consideration.

The FAC identifies that the swimmer...

  • maintains an authorised classification
  • has the necessary exceptions to the rules when competing, and
  • is eligible for British, European and World Records, Rankings and Disability Swimming Programme Consideration Times.

How do I get an FAC?

To obtain an FAC you need to be a registered ASA / SASA / WASA member, over the age of nine and have an IPC or British Swimming functional classification, a visual classification or an international intellectual disability classification.

British Swimming will check your classification and membership to ensure that correct details, including a list of code exceptions and requirements, appear on your card.

Cards are renewable annually at 31st January. See below for links to the application form. You will need a passport-sized photograph

Click here to download an FAC application form
Click here to download an FAC renewal form

If you have any questions concerning FACs contact the National Disability Office on 01625 440434 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            01625 440434      end_of_the_skype_highlighting, or click here to email with your enquiry.