ASA Aquatics Awards 2016

The ASA Aquatics Awards will be returning on Saturday 26 November 2016, following a hugely successful inaugural event last year.

We will be making some noise about the unsung heroes of aquatics at the ASA Aquatics Award 2016, taking place in the prestigious Great Hall at the University of Birmingham on 26 November.

There are thousands of people across England who dedicate their time and effort to make aquatics the fantastic sport that it is, but very often their contributions go uncelebrated.

The ASA Aquatics Awards provide an opportunity for you to make sure that all of these hardworking people have a chance at getting recognised at our prestigious annual event.

Goodfellow and Robinson to present awards

The event will be hosted by Mike Farrar, the ASA Group Board Chair. Mike will be joined by Rio 2016 Olympic diving bronze medallist Dan Goodfellow and Rio 2016 Paralympic swimming gold medallist Ellie Robinson, who will be presenting the 18 awards.

The ASA Aquatics Awards 2016 is a formal wear event, with arrival and drinks reception from 11:30 followed by a three-course meal and award presentations, finishing before 16:00.

The Awards

Nominations have now closed and performance category winners have been decided. 

A record number of nominations have been received and the finalists are listed below.

Have a look at last year's winners on our Past Winners page.

Should you have any queries about the Awards, please email

ASA Aquatics Awards 2016 Categories

ASA Learn to Swim Award

This is someone who has shown particular promise in the pool at a young age and is achieving a high standard of swimming along the ASA Learn to Swim Pathway.


  • Tadghan Woods
  • Grace Hutson
  • Yasmin Elliott

ASA School Swimming Charter: Primary School of the Year

This award recognises a school that has taken appropriate steps to demonstrate proactive action to improve the delivery of their school swimming.


  • Potterhanworth C.E. Primary School
  • Phillimore Community Primary School
  • St. Barnabus C.E. Primary School

ASA Swim School of the Year

This award is for an ASA affiliated Swim School that provides an excellent service to all of its members, assists the development of its swimmers and staff, and continually strives to achieve high standards.


  • Penguins Swimming Lessons
  • Hatch End Swim School
  • Diamond Swim Academy

ASA Achievement Award: Youth Participant

This award is for an individual who has accomplished a notable achievement in aquatics early in life, such as a personal or structured aquatic challenge.


  • Zak Frisby
  • Daisy Anderson
  • Hettie Chambers  

ASA Achievement Award: Senior Participant

This award is for an individual who has accomplished a notable achievement in aquatics in later life, such as a personal or structured aquatic challenge.


  • Mimi Harker
  • Arthur Lowe
  • Grenville Cole

ASA Achievement Award: Disabled Participant

This award is for an individual who has overcome, or continues to overcome, a disability and is progressing in their chosen aquatic discipline, achieving high standards in the pool throughout the year.


  • Beth Coller
  • Kati Edmonds
  • Katie Yallop

ASA Facility Operator of the Year

This prestigious award will recognise the Facility Operators who have demonstrated continued commitment to improving their aquatic programmes over the past 12 months. There will be two winners, one for operators with 0-22 wet sites and one for operators with 23 plus wet sites.

ASA Club of the Year

This award recognises a non-ASA funded club that shows a commitment and passion for aquatics by providing a quality and enjoyable experience to their members, through developing innovative ways to grow and improve the club.


  • Norton Radstock Swimming Club
  • City Of Bradford Esprit Diving Club
  • Hatfield Swimming Club 

ASA Young Volunteer of the Year

This award recognises an ASA volunteer who, at a young age, is already making an impact within the world of aquatics.


  • Jordan Lakin
  • Nathan Clarke
  • Connor Hill

ASA Volunteer of the Year

This award recognises an ASA volunteer whose contribution is seen as invaluable and their efforts are instrumental in the work behind the scenes.


  • Robert John
  • Louise Reece
  • Christopher Mayell

ASA Teacher of the Year

This award recognises a teacher who provides quality lessons week in week out. They are motivated to improve their pupil’s standards and go the extra mile to ensure they deliver the best quality learning experience for their pupils.


  • Jake Harrison
  • Harley Hicks
  • Denise Coduri

ASA Coach of the Year

This award recognises an ASA coach who has made an outstanding commitment to coaching within the sport and has supported athletes to achieve their personal best.


  • Sam Buck
  • Mel Marshall
  • Ryan Livingstone  

ASA Services to Aquatics

This award is presented to an individual who regularly goes above and beyond within aquatics and without whom the sport could not continue to run. They will have contributed towards the development and participation of aquatics at a local, regional or national level and have promoted the sport to all.


  • Ian Douglas
  • Larry Hill
  • Mike Shortman

The David Sparkes OBE Innovation Award

This award recognises and celebrates innovation throughout the aquatics industry, from pool design to methods of training, energy saving, Learn to Swim, new technology or increases in aquatic participation. The winner of the Award will be announced on the day.

Baby Swimming Lesson Guidelines - Parents IoS Training For Level 2 Teaching Qualifications Purchase today Sign up to the ASA School Swimming Charter. We're taking swimming seriously, are you?