Go Swimming has everything you need to know about swimming. If you are a parent, a non swimmer or just want to improve your technique this is the section for you.

In British Swimming you will find information about the world of high performance sport, including the disciplines of Swimming, Diving, Synchronised Swimming, Water Polo and Para-Swimming.

The ASA is the governing body for the sport in England. In this section you will find all you need to know about joining a club or competing in England and becoming a swimming teacher or coach.

The IoS delivers the ASA’s courses and is a member organisation. Whether you are a teacher, coach, employer or club you will find everything you need to know about qualifications or educating your workforce.

Accessibility - Text Only - Display Options - Accessibility

Nominations open for the Kellogg’s ASA Swimtastic Awards 2011

4 August 2011

The Kellogg’s ASA Swimtastic Awards, awarding outstanding non-elite achievements and unsung swimming stars across the country, are even bigger and better in 2011.

The glittering ‘Oscar-style’ awards ceremony will be held at a bigger venue – Ponds Forge, Sheffield – on 5th November 2011 and a new ‘Parent of the Year’ category has been added to recognise efforts of Mums and Dads that give up their time to help their children progress in the pool.

National winners will have the chance to join Britain’s top aquatic athletes in the pool at the ‘Swim with the Stars’ gala event before the celebration dinner and disco. Read about the 2010 winners here.

Athletes attending the ‘Swim with the Stars’ afternoon, include:

Nick Robinson-Baker
Jenna Randall
Olivia Allison
Cassie Patten
Georgia Hohmann
Fran Leighton
Amelia Maughan
Jack Bridge
Jess Powell
Ann Morris
Emma Hollis
James Hollis


ASA Sponsorship Director Katie Brazier said: “The ASA organises the Kellogg’s ASA Swimtastic Awards because it is a great opportunity for us to celebrate the amazing achievements of people across all levels and areas of our sport.

“We know there are thousands of unsung swimming stars out there and so we are looking forward to receiving lots of nominations.”

Bruce Learner, Head of Corporate Responsibility & Partnerships at Kellogg’s, said: “These swimming awards recognise those special people who have achieved a little more than the rest of us in the pool.

"It’s a fantastic event where we hear such inspirational stories so make sure you nominate someone close to you for your chance to join the celebrations.

“We’re really excited about the new ‘Parent of the Year’ award. Mums and Dads all over the UK make huge sacrifices to support their children on their swimming journeys.

"I suspect many of them wouldn’t see their efforts as a sacrifice, but we’d like to recognise them anyway, which is why we’ve created the Swimtastic Award for Parents.”

The awards are divided into 11 clear categories, acknowledging people of all ages and abilities, providers of learn to swim lessons and particularly recognise those who have excelled with the Kellogg’s ASA Awards Scheme.

The eleven categories for the 2011 Kellogg’s ASA Swimtastic Awards are:

  • Young Swimmer of the Year
  • Disability Swimmer of the Year
  • Parent of the Year
  • Swim4Life Family Swim Award
  • British Swimming Supporters Club Senior Swimmer Award
  • Fundraising Award
  • RLSS Life Saver of the Year
  • Facility Operator Award
  • Community Project Award
  • Swim School Award
  • Top Teacher Award

To find out more about each award and to nominate someone who deserves recognition for their achievements, click here. Nominations close on 11th September 2011.

Purchase today Sign up to the ASA School Swimming Charter. We're taking swimming seriously, are you? IoS Training For Level 2 Teaching Qualifications Subscribe to Swimming Times today for all the latest aquatics news Baby Swimming Lesson Guidelines - Parents