Relive the Kellogg’s ASA Swimtastic Awards

23rd October 2012

Whilst Britain basks in the glow of this summer’s success, the Olympic legacy continued this weekend as our aquatic Olympians recognised the achievements of some of our inspirational unsung swimming heroes at the Kellogg’s ASA Swimtastic Awards 2012.

Finalists from across the UK travelled to Ponds Forge Aquatics Centre on Saturday 20th October to swim with the stars of British Swimming including London 2012 Paralympic double gold medallist Ellie Simmonds.

A glittering awards ceremony followed in the evening which saw some of the top names in British ‘swimmeratti’ guarantee the night went off with a bang, including Paralympic swimming gold medallist Josef Craig, as well as Open Water Olympian Keri-Anne Payne, Olympic diver Nick-Robinson Baker, Olympic women's water polo team captain Fran Leighton and Olympic synchronised swimmers Jenna Randall and Olivia Federici.

The Kellogg’s Swimtastic Awards are organised by the ASA, the national governing body for swimming, and celebrate the achievements of swimmers of all ages and abilities from around the country.

Mary Clark, the winner of the Top Teacher of the Year Award, was overwhelmed by the event and spoke of her pride in winning her category.

I’m going to use this award to get more people swimming.

“I feel absolutely fantastic!” Mary said. “My emotions are completely running awry and I just can’t believe it.

“There will be a lot of happy faces when I get home I’m sure and I’m going to use this award to get more people swimming.”

Olympic bronze medallist and BBC sport presenter Steve Parry, who hosted the awards, said: “The whole country is on a high after the Olympics, which is fantastic, but now it’s time to recognise the heart-warming, courageous stories of our swimming community up and down the country - that’s exactly what The Swimtastic Awards are about.  

“It’s a brilliant way of honouring the people who have achieved their personal goals in the pool.

“As always there has been a fine range of talent on show at this year’s Swimtastic Awards and our finalists have been given a hero’s welcome by our Olympic stars - something they all thoroughly deserve.”


Sun Newcomer Award

  • GOLD - George Block

Young Swimmer of the Year

  • GOLD - Oliver Saunders
  • SILVER - Eden Joy Light
  • BRONZE - Cerys Esslemont

Disability Swimmer of the Year

  • GOLD - Jessica Swales
  • SILVER - Kylian Sampson
  • BRONZE - Katie Beavington

Parent of the Year

  • GOLD - Vicki Lewis
  • SILVER - Edwin Plumber
  • BRONZE - David Gilmore

Senior Swimmer of the Year

  • GOLD - Tony Shrimpton
  • SILVER - Ron Smith
  • BRONZE - Mark Ricketts

Fundraising Award

  • GOLD - Millie Checkley
  • SILVER - Ethan Evans
  • BRONZE - David Taylor

RLSS Lifesaver of the Year

  • GOLD - Stella Russel, Kane Murgatroyd and Madison Stoney

Swim School of the Year

  • GOLD - Burnham-on-sea
  • SILVER - Havering & Hornchurch
  • BRONZE - Quackers Swim School

Top Teacher of the Year

  • GOLD - Mary Clark
  • SILVER - Jan Ebbs
  • BRONZE - Roberta Wilson

Family Swim Award

  • GOLD - The Tait Family
  • SILVER - The Mohammed Family
  • BRONZE - The Turner-Rowe Family

Community Project of the Year

  • GOLD - Mines a swim
  • SILVER - Swim into Action
  • BRONZE - Aquanorts

Facility Operator of the Year

  • GOLD - Everyone Active
  • SILVER - DC Leisure
  • BRONZE - Leisure Connection

For photographs from the event please click here.

IoS Training For Level 2 Teaching Qualifications Sign up to the ASA School Swimming Charter. We're taking swimming seriously, are you? Baby Swimming Lesson Guidelines - Parents Purchase today