Go Swimming has everything you need to know about swimming. If you are a parent, a non swimmer or just want to improve your technique this is the section for you.

In British Swimming you will find information about the world of high performance sport, including the disciplines of Swimming, Diving, Synchronised Swimming, Water Polo and Para-Swimming.

The ASA is the governing body for the sport in England. In this section you will find all you need to know about joining a club or competing in England and becoming a swimming teacher or coach.

The IoS delivers the ASA’s courses and is a member organisation. Whether you are a teacher, coach, employer or club you will find everything you need to know about qualifications or educating your workforce.

Accessibility - Text Only - Display Options - Accessibility

Calling all volunteers & coaches: could you be the ASA’s next Aquaforce winner?

Every year the ASA uses the Aquaforce Awards as a chance to thank those who dedicate vital hours, days and weeks to our sport. This year, could it be you or your club that are honoured?

Nominatons for the 2011 Aquaforce Volunteer and Coaching Awards are now open, and we at the ASA want to see the highest number of nominations to date.

This year nominations for both sets of awards (volunteer and coaching) will be made using the same nomination form, making the process easier for clubs.

Between now and 30th June, we are inviting clubs and counties to submit nominations.

The Aquaforce Awards will be presented again at the ASA Council dinner and the Regional Coaching Awards winners will be nominated for the relevant national award, (Swimtastic, Aquaforce or BSCA).


Following on from 2010 the categories are:

Aquaforce Awards
1. Outstanding contribution at club level     
2. Outstanding contribution at county/regional level             
3. Long Service Award (25 years or more)                    
4. Young Volunteer - under 18 year
5. Outstanding contribution by a 18 to 25 year old

Coaching Awards
1. FUNdamentals Person of the Year
2. Health and Lifelong Participation Person of the Year
3. Skill-Development Person of the Year
4. High Performance Person of the Year
5. Coaching Environment of the Year
6. Young Person of the Year
7. The Coaching Chain
8. Person Educator of the Year
9. Lifetime Achievement Award

Criteria for winners

All nominations should come from clubs, leisure providers or swim schools that are affiliated to the ASA.

All nominated coaches, teachers or officials should have the appropriate qualifications.

Nominations from swim21 clubs is preferable but not essential.

All categories should be considered against the following areas:

  • What impact has the coaches/volunteers actions had on others?
  • What have they done that is beyond what is expected from them?
  • Have they inspired and supported others around them to fulfil their roles?

So that's all you need to know. Get nominating and good luck!

Subscribe to Swimming Times today for all the latest aquatics news Sign up to the ASA School Swimming Charter. We're taking swimming seriously, are you? IoS Training For Level 2 Teaching Qualifications Check out the Speedo Hero Series