Olympic medallists confirmed for 2014 Nationals

Keri-anne Payne face

Olympic gold medallist Ruta Meilutyte and Olympic silver medallist Keri-anne Payne are two of the big names confirmed to compete at Ponds Forge after entries closed for the 2014 British Gas ASA National Age Group and Youth Championships.

Plymouth Leander swimmer Meilutyte will compete in the 50m Freestyle, 100m Freestyle and 100m Breaststroke – the event in which she is Olympic champion, world champion and world record holder.

Beijing 2008 Olympic 10km Marathon silver medallist Payne (Warrender) has entered the 200m Freestyle, 800m Freestyle and 200m Individual Medley as she returns to the national stage for the first time since the 2013 British Gas International Meet.

London 2012 Olympians Antony James, Jessica Lloyd, Rebecca Turner and Ellie Faulkner will also be in action at the British Gas National Championships (Youth, MC & Open) from 5 – 10 August, as well as 2013 World Championship semi-finalist Ben Proud.

Entries for the National Age Group Championships are also strong with last year’s 13 Years BAGCAT winners Holly Hibbott (Southport) and George Taplin (Hillingdon) returning for their final year at the event.

Last year’s 12 Years BAGCAT winners Jessica Manning (City of Leeds) and Cameron Matthews (Hamilton Aq Dubai) also return for this year’s Championships which take place from 30 July – 3 August.

There will also be a competitive line-up in the Age Group (1.5km) and Youth (2km / 3km) Open Water Championships which split the two pool events.

Nathan Hughes (Hatfield) won gold in the 13 Yrs category 12 months ago and will return for his final year in the 1.5km distance. Scott Deans (Co Glasgow) was the fastest swimmer over 2km last year and will aim to claim a second gold in the 15/16 Age Group.

Philippa Shuttleworth could be the one to beat in the 3km event. The Hatfield swimmer will compete at her second European Junior Open Water Championships in July and finished 15th in the 5km event at last year’s European Juniors.


website: Skylab