O’Connor lights up opening session in Glasgow

10th April 2014

Siobhan-Marie O’Connor smashed her personal best to lead 200m Freestyle qualifiers from the opening session of the British Gas Swimming Championships 2014 in Glasgow.

The 18-year old clocked the fourth fastest time by a British swimmer in history to win her heat in 1:57.23 with Jazz Carlin (1:58.37) and Rebecca Turner (1:59.24) second and third fastest respectively.

O’Connor was back in action later in the session, again winning her heat to reach tonight’s 100m Butterfly semi-finals.

The Bath teenager set 59.70 to progress third fastest behind Francesca Halsall (58.65) and Rachael Kelly (59.09).

Teammates Andrew Willis and Michael Jamieson will battle it out for national supremacy again after easing through their respective 200m Breaststroke heats into tonight’s final.

Willis led qualifiers in 2:11.42 while Olympic silver medallist Jamieson was third fastest overall on 2:12.43, the pair split by City of Derby’s Adam Peaty on 2:11.94.

Aimee Willmott closed in on her first British title with a dominant performance in the 400m Individual Medley heats.

The Middlesborough swimmer won silver last year but will be hoping to upgrade to gold tonight following the withdrawal of eight-time champion Hannah Miley.

Willmott won her heat in 4:40.70 to progress ahead of Ellis Jackson (4:48.51) and Rosie Rudin (4:49.43 PB).

Jay Lelliott sliced four seconds off his personal best to lead qualifiers in the men’s 400m Freestyle.

The University of Bath swimmer clocked 3:50.36 to progress ahead of defending bronze medallist James Guy (3:50.76) and Gareth Mills (3:51.28 PB).

English record holder and defending silver medallist Dan Fogg also qualified for the final, clocking 3:51.81 to progress sixth fastest.

Matt Wylie will be in lane four for tonight’s only other final after setting a British record in the S9 100m Freestyle heat.

The 18-year old led qualifiers in 58.95 while Ryan West also beat his PB to qualify second fastest on 59.61.

Liam Tancock and Chris Walker-Hebborn made light work of their 100m Backstroke heats to reach tonight’s semi-finals as the fastest two qualifiers on 55.34 and 55.35 respectively.

Finally, Sophie Taylor set a personal best 31.04 to lead the way into tonight’s 50m Breaststroke semi-finals while defending champion Ben Proud was the quickest from the 50m Butterfly heats in 23.78.