Murdoch leads way into all-star breaststroke final

14th April 2015

In arguably the most hotly contested event of the British Swimming Championships 2015 in London, a host of top names took to the pool for the Men’s 200m Breaststroke heats.

Commonwealth champion Ross Murdoch lay down the gauntlet ahead of Bath NPC’s Andrew Willis, proving his form in a comfortable morning swim of 2:09.48.

World recorder holder over the 50m sprint distance Adam Peaty also enters the fray, with Craig Benson, James Wilby, Calum Tait, Richard Spoor and Olympic silver medallist Michael Jamieson completing the all-star line up for tonight’s showdown.

Siobhan Marie O’Connor also started her 2015 British Championship campaign in style posting the fastest time of the morning in the Women’s 100m Freestyle heats. Clocking sub-54 for the first time in her career, the Bath NPC swimmer touched in 53.81 ahead of Loughborough sprint specialist Fran Halsall.

City of Sheffield’s Nick Grainger leads the field into tonight’s 400m Freestyle final in 3:49.30. Despite being the only swimmer to duck under the 3.50 mark this morning, Grainger won’t have it easy as hot on his heels tonight will be Commonwealth 400m Individual Medley champion Dan Wallace and current British record holder, James Guy.

Reigning champion, Chris Walker-Hebborn set the pace in the Men’s 100m Backstroke, stretching out in his heat to find the wall in 53.21 – a body length ahead of his next competitor. Also looking strong was Commonwealth bronze medallist Liam Tancock and Plymouth Leander’s Joe Patching who qualified second and third through to the final.

The third Bath NPC swimmer to take pole position this morning, Jemma Lowe looked on form in the Women's 200m Butterfly as she swam to 2:09.76. Commonwealth silver medallist Aimee Willmott and Commonwealth finalist Hannah Miley will be adding to the line up in what promises to be a close battle.

In the first of the time trial events, Danielle Huskisson dominated in the Women’s 1500m Freestyle. The University of Stirling swimmer surged ahead of the rest of the field to touch in a new personal best time of 16:26.59 – 30 seconds clear of Alice Dearing and Jessie Westnidge in second and third place respectively.

Concluding the morning, the Men’s 50m Butterfly time trial saw British record holder Benjamin Proud clock 23.51 to take the win ahead of Loughborough University duo Adam Barrett and Tom Laxton.

  • Click here for full results from the morning.
  • Click here to download the FINA World Long Course Championships 2015 Selection Policy.