Renshaw leads way into 200m Breast final

12th April 2014

Molly Renshaw set the third fastest time of her career to book lane four for the 200m Breaststroke final on day three of the British Gas Swimming Championships 2014 in Glasgow.

The 17-year old has won silver in this event for the past three years but her 2:27.27 effort from the heats saw her progress more than a second clear of second fastest qualifier Hannah Miley (2:28.80).

Danielle Lowe, who won 400m Individual Medley silver on the opening night at Tollcross, was third fastest qualifier in 2:29.06.

Layla Black will also be one to watch in the final, having set a new 13 Yrs British Age Group record of 2:31.22 to progress in sixth.

Stockport Metro’s Michael Gunning led qualifiers in to the men’s 200m Butterfly final after winning his heat with a personal best 1:59.13.

He will have last night’s 400m Individual Medley champion Roberto Pavoni for company after the Loughborough swimmer progressed second fastest in 1:59.22 while defending champion Joe Roebuck was fourth fastest into the final in 1:59.71.

Tom Hamer and Jack Thomas will line up in the middle lanes of the S14 200m Freestyle final tonight, having secured their respectively English and Welsh nomination times with personal bests in the heat.

Hamer led the way on 2:02.60 while Thomas clocked 2:03.65 to progress in second with Ben Procter third fastest on 2:05.18.

Francesca Halsall clocked a season’s best 25.97 on her 24th birthday to lead qualifiers into tonight’s 50m Butterfly semi-finals.

Halsall’s Loughborough teammates Amy Smith and Rachael Kelly progressed second and third fastest after clocking personal best efforts of 26.41 and 26.69 respectively.

Having defended his 100m Backstroke title last night, Chris Walker-Hebborn set the second fastest time of his career to lead 50m Back qualifiers in 25.52.

Defending champion Marco Loughran (25.79) and world record holder Liam Tancock (25.84) were second and third fastest into the semi-finals respectively while Andy McGovern set a Scottish record 25.89 to progress in fourth, ducking under the Commonwealth nomination time in the process.

Ben Proud led qualifiers in to the 100m Freestyle semi-finals, missing his personal best by 0.06 seconds as he won his heat in 49.54.

Defending champion Adam Brown set 49.79 to join Proud in the semis while Adam Barrett and James Disney-May both clocked 49.92 to progress joint third fastest.