Go Swimming has everything you need to know about swimming. If you are a parent, a non swimmer or just want to improve your technique this is the section for you.

In British Swimming you will find information about the world of high performance sport, including the disciplines of Swimming, Diving, Synchronised Swimming, Water Polo and Para-Swimming.

The ASA is the governing body for the sport in England. In this section you will find all you need to know about joining a club or competing in England and becoming a swimming teacher or coach.

The IoS delivers the ASA’s courses and is a member organisation. Whether you are a teacher, coach, employer or club you will find everything you need to know about qualifications or educating your workforce.

Accessibility - Text Only - Display Options - Accessibility

Stockport-based swimmers dominate the world’s largest open water race

15 Feb 2010

World Champion Keri-Anne Payne retained her title in South Africa’s Midmar Mile race on Valentine’s day as the Brits took all of the podium places in the women’s race.

Olympic silver medallist Payne touched home first in 19 minutes 24 seconds, closely followed by team-mates Katy Whitfield winner of the Great London Swim, in 19 min 27 secs and Olympic bronze medallist Cassie Patten in 19 min 30 secs.

Charlotte Wooliscroft was fourth in 19 min 34 secs with Sophie Casson taking  fifth place in the race.

World Championship swimmer Daniel Fogg took silver in the men’s race with European Junior medalist Tom Allen taking eighth. British Gas ITC Stockport swimmer David Carry came 13th.

The British Gas ITC Stockport swimmers have taken time out from an altitude training camp in South Africa to compete in the event, which was held at Howick in Kwa Zulu Natal the Kingdom of the Zulu and is in its 37th year attracting over 17,000 entries.

In September 2009, the Guinness Book of Records officially recognised it as the world’s largest open water swimming event with 13,755 finishers.

The British Gas team, powered by British Gas, will now compete in the Midmar 10km race on Tuesday 16th Feb.


The team consists of:

Sophie Casson
Cassandra Patten
Keri-Anne Payne
Katy Whitfield
Charlotte Woolliscroft
Thomas Allen
David Carry
David Davies
Daniel Fogg

European Champs 2016