Go Swimming has everything you need to know about swimming. If you are a parent, a non swimmer or just want to improve your technique this is the section for you.

In British Swimming you will find information about the world of high performance sport, including the disciplines of Swimming, Diving, Synchronised Swimming, Water Polo and Para-Swimming.

The ASA is the governing body for the sport in England. In this section you will find all you need to know about joining a club or competing in England and becoming a swimming teacher or coach.

The IoS delivers the ASA’s courses and is a member organisation. Whether you are a teacher, coach, employer or club you will find everything you need to know about qualifications or educating your workforce.

Accessibility - Text Only - Display Options - Accessibility

British Swimmers Belgium bound

15th January 2013

Britain’s young swimmers will start the new year with a competition in Antwerp, Belgium on the 19th and 20th January.

The team of 48 swimmers, predominantly on the development programme, will be taking part in the Flanders Speedo Cup as they get the 2013 season up and running.

The Flanders Cup will provide a quality racing opportunity against an international field, including some World Class competitors.

Amongst those selected are World Junior Champion, Rachel Kelly and European Junior Champions Joseph Patching, Elena Sheridan, Molly Renshaw and Matthew Johnson.

Olympians Liam Tancock, Fran Halsall and Amy Smith will also travel out with the team to race for the first time since they joined the National Sprint Group under Coach James Gibson.

And Ciaran O’Brien, the Team Leader for the event says it will be a great way for the youngsters to blow away the Christmas cobwebs and focus on the new season ahead.

He said: “The Flanders Cup will provide a quality racing opportunity against an international field, including some World Class competitors.

“We are travelling with a large team who will take a no compromise approach to the event, maximising the benefits of racing tough at this stage of the season as part of the preparation for opportunities and challenges that lie later in the year and throughout the quad cycle to Rio 2016.”

The British Gas GBR Swimming team is:


  • Thomas Allen            British Gas Swansea ITC
  • Lewis Coleman        City of Sheffield
  • James Guy                 Millfield School
  • Calum Jarvis              British Gas Bath ITC
  • Matthew Johnson      City of Sheffield
  • Jack Marriott                Oxford University
  • Joseph Patching        Plymouth Leander
  • Adam Peaty                 City of Derby
  • Russell Smith            British Gas Stockport ITC
  • Thomas Sunter          City of Sheffield
  • Jessica Fullalove      City of Manchester Aquatics
  • Georgia Hohmann    Loughborough University
  • Karley Mann                Hillingdon
  • Lauren Quigley           City of Manchester Aquatics
  • Molly Renshaw           Derventio
  • Elena Sheridan          Romford Town
  • Lucy Spencer             City of Sheffield
  • Sophie Taylor             City of Leeds


  • Adam Barrett             Loughborough University
  • James Broady          Loughborough University
  • Jonathan Carlisle    British Gas Bath ITC
  • Melako Coker            Ealing
  • Nicholas Grainger   City of Sheffield
  • David Gregory           City of Sheffield
  • Kane Haggett            Derventio
  • Alfie Howes               British Gas Bath ITC
  • Sam Horrocks          City of Manchester Aquatics
  • Max Litchfield            Doncaster Dartes
  • Stephen Milne          Perth City
  • Alex Murphy               Abingdon Vale
  • Ben Proud                 Plymouth Leander
  • Braxston Timm        City of Sheffield
  • Lucy Charles            Hatfield
  • Georgina Evans       City of Liverpool
  • Isabella Hindley       Chelsea Westminster
  • Emily Jones              Garioch
  • Rachael Kelly           Loughborough University
  • Shauna Lee              Hatfield
  • Danielle Lowe         Middlesborough
  • Libby Mitchell           Swansea University
  • Corrie Scott              University of Edinburgh
  • Grace Vertigans      Plymouth Leander
  • Rachael Williamson    Kingston upon Hull
  • Rebecca Turner        City of Sheffield
  • Eleanor Faulkner      City of Sheffield
  • Liam Tancock            National Sprint Group
  • Francesca Halsall    National Sprint Group
  • Amy Smith                  National Sprint Group
European Champs 2016