Go Swimming has everything you need to know about swimming. If you are a parent, a non swimmer or just want to improve your technique this is the section for you.

In British Swimming you will find information about the world of high performance sport, including the disciplines of Swimming, Diving, Synchronised Swimming, Water Polo and Para-Swimming.

The ASA is the governing body for the sport in England. In this section you will find all you need to know about joining a club or competing in England and becoming a swimming teacher or coach.

The IoS delivers the ASA’s courses and is a member organisation. Whether you are a teacher, coach, employer or club you will find everything you need to know about qualifications or educating your workforce.

Accessibility - Text Only - Display Options - Accessibility

Brits impress on first day in Berlin

22 Oct 2011

The first day of racing at the FINA World Cup in Berlin saw the British Gas GBR Swimming Team win nine medals as they impressed with their first competitive outing of the season.

European silver medallist Fran Halsall won the first medal for the Brits in the women’s 100m Butterfly with a time of 56.98.

The sprint specialist enjoyed her usual explosive start and reached the halfway point in the lead but Therese Alshammar (Sweden) was too powerful through the final 50m and took the victory from Halsall.

Alshammar won the race in 55.62 with Jeanette Ottesen (Denmark) winning bronze in 57.30.

Halsall (British Gas ITC Loughborough) made her return to the pool later in the session in the women’s 50m Freestyle where she went head to head with Alshammar and world long course record holder Britta Steffen.

Alshammar took the race out hard and led throughout and the battle for silver was on. Steffen just touched out Halsall as the Brit took bronze in 24.17. Halsall’s team-mate Amy Smith finished seventh in 24.76.

The men’s 400m Freestyle saw Ross Davenport (British Gas ITC Loughborough) impress with his performance in the lane next to world record holder Paul Biedermann (Germany).

As the race began to unfold Davenport stayed on Biedermann’s shoulder and for the first 200m the pair were swimming stroke for stroke.

Biedermann turned on his speed throughout the final half of the race and started to move away from the Brit.

The rest of the field began to catch up but Davenport pushed on and won silver in a time of 3:44.78 behind Bidermann’s 3:41.19.

Double Commonwealth Champion James Goddard (British Gas ITC Stockport) won silver just behind Michael Phelps in the men’s 100m Individual Medley.

Goddard and Liam Tancock (British Gas ITC Loughborough) lined up either side of the eight-time Olympic Champion and as the race entered the Freestyle leg Goddard made sure he stuck to the side of Phelps.

Goddard touched in 52.05 to win his silver medal behind Phelps’ 51.65 and Tancock finished in fifth in 53.30.

Sophie Allen won the silver medal in the women’s 200m Individual Medley with a promising performance.

The British Gas ITC Stockport swimmer found herself in fourth place half way through the race but moved up into the medal position with 50m to go. She touched in 2:08.78 to take second place. Team-mate Aimee Willmott (Middlesbrough) finished in sixth in 2:11.90.

British Gas ITC Stirling’s Ryan Bennett won his first medal of the competition in the men’s 100m Backstroke.

Bennett took to the blocks alongside World short course bronze medallist Aschwin Wildeboer and knew that if he kept on his shoulder the Brit would be in a good position. Bennett won his bronze in a time of 52.21 with Wildeboer winning the race in 50.23.

Lizzie Simmonds went into the final of the women’s 50m Backstroke in lane four as she lined up against a world class field.

The European silver medallist got out to a powerful first 25m and turned first but was pushed into the third position on the touch.

Simmonds touched in 27.09 to win her first medal of the competition.

Later in the session the British Gas ITC Loughborough swimmer, Simmonds, went into the final of the women’s 200m Backstroke and lined up against Missy Franklin (USA) and Belinda Hocking (AUS).

Simmonds swam a steady race but Franklin took the race out from the lead and was moving closer and closer to the world record. The American touched in 2:00.03 to lower the world record. Simmonds won her second bronze in 2:01.54.

Michael Rock (British Gas ITC Stockport) won his first medal of the FINA World Cup series in the men’s 200m Butterfly after he secured bronze with a time of 1:54.07.

City of Newcastle’s Jessica Thielmann just missed out on the medals in the women’s 800m Freestyle after touching in a time of 8:27.90. She had a strong first half of the race sitting in third place but Sarah Köhler had a stronger back end and overtook Thielmann to force the Brit into fourth.

British Gas ITC Loughborough’s Jo Jackson finished in sixth place in the women’s 200m Freestyle with a time of 1:55.60.

Plymouth Leander’s Antony James finished in eighth place in the men’s 50m Butterfly in a time of 23.63.

Lewis Smith and Joe Roebuck finished in 9th and 11th place respectively in the men’s 400m Individual Medley. Smith touched in 4:13.96 and Roebuck secured 4:15.63.

The racing, which takes place on Saturday (22nd October) and Sunday (23rd October), will be streamed live on GBSport.TV

The British Gas GBR Team selected for the event is:

Rob Bale British Gas ITC Stirling
Ryan Bennett British Gas ITC Stirling
David Carry British Gas ITC Stockport
Ross Davenport British Gas ITC Loughborough
James Goddard British Gas ITC Stockport
Grant Halsall Plymouth Leander
Antony James Plymouth Leander
Iain MacMillan British Gas ITC Stockport
Andrew Mayor British Gas ITC Stirling
Joseph Parker Plymouth Leander
Joseph Patching Plymouth Leander
Michael Rock British Gas ITC Stockport
Joe Roebuck Loughborough University
Jamie Ross British Gas ITC Stirling
Douglas Scott British Gas ITC Stirling
Jak Scott British Gas ITC Stirling
Dan Sliwinski British Gas ITC Stockport
Lewis Smith British Gas ITC Stirling
Russ Smith British Gas ITC Stirling
Christopher Steeples Derventio
Liam Tancock British Gas ITC Loughborough
Jamie Thorpe City of Leicester
Grant Turner British Gas ITC Loughborough
Josh Walsh British Gas ITC Stirling
Sophie Allen British Gas ITC Stockport
Kerry Buchan British Gas ITC Stirling
Lucy Ellis British Gas ITC Stirling
Francesca Halsall British Gas ITC Loughborough
Joanne Jackson British Gas ITC Loughborough
Phoebe Lenderyou City of Newcastle
Jessica Lloyd City of Manchester
Emma Saunders City of Manchester
Lizzie Simmonds British Gas ITC Loughborough
Amy Smith Loughborough University
Sophie Smith City of Leicester
Jessica Thielmann City of Newcastle
Lauren Quigley City of Manchester
Emma Wilkins Plymouth Leander
Aimee Wilmott Middlesborough

European Champs 2016