Go Swimming has everything you need to know about swimming. If you are a parent, a non swimmer or just want to improve your technique this is the section for you.

In British Swimming you will find information about the world of high performance sport, including the disciplines of Swimming, Diving, Synchronised Swimming, Water Polo and Para-Swimming.

The ASA is the governing body for the sport in England. In this section you will find all you need to know about joining a club or competing in England and becoming a swimming teacher or coach.

The IoS delivers the ASA’s courses and is a member organisation. Whether you are a teacher, coach, employer or club you will find everything you need to know about qualifications or educating your workforce.

Accessibility - Text Only - Display Options - Accessibility

Halsall seals gold in Berlin

23rd October 2011

The British Gas GBR Swimming Team signed off with a total of 13 medals from the FINA World Cup in Berlin including gold for Fran Halsall.

Five-time Commonwealth medallist Halsall finished her campaign with victory in the women’s 100m Individual Medley completing her hat-trick of medals at the event.

On day one she won silver in the 100m Butterfly and bronze in the 50m Freestyle and at the beginning of day two she just missed out on a medal in the 100m Freestyle, finishing fifth in 52.71.

The British Gas ITC Loughborough swimmer enjoyed an explosive start to the 100m Medley final and quickly got into her rhythm on the butterfly leg. As the race entered the final 25m she powered through the water to win her gold in 58.73.

Sophie Allen (British Gas ITC Stockport) finished fourth in 59.67 and Sophie Smith was seventh in 1:01.13.

Double Commonwealth champion James Goddard closed his weekend with silver in the 200m Individual Medley.

Swimming in the lane next to eight-time Olympic champion Michael Phelps, Goddard kept his pace right to stay close to the American.

The British Gas ITC Stockport swimmer broke his own British record with a time of 1:52.57 to to complete a hat-trick of medals at the competition.

Earlier in the session, Goddard swam to bronze in the men’s 100m Breaststroke with a time of 58.22, while he clinched silver in day one's 100m Individual Medley.

Aimee Willmott showed her promise in the women’s 400m Individual Medley with a strong performance that earned her the silver medal.

Willmott moved into the lead in the backstroke leg but Izumi Kato (Japan) was too strong through the breaststroke and left the Brit in a fight for second place.

The Middlesbrough swimmer won her silver in 4:34.27 with teammate Jessica Thielmann (City of Newcastle) seventh in 4:45.15.

Ross Davenport (British Gas ITC Loughborough) just missed out on his second medal of the meet in the 200m Freestyle after finishing fourth in a time of 1:44.53. David Carry (British Gas ITC Stockport) touched in eighth place in 1:45.56.

Loughborough University’s Amy Smith was the final swimmer on the blocks for the British Gas GBR Swimming Team and just missed the podium after touching in fourth in the 50m Butterfly in 26.67.

British Gas ITC Loughborough’s Lizzie Simmonds secured fifth place in the 100m Backstroke in 58.08 with Lauren Quigley (City of Manchester) eighth in 59.76.

World record holder Liam Tancock (British Gas ITC Loughborough) touched in fifth in the 50m Backstroke in 24.02.

Thielmann returned to the pool in the women’s 400m Freestyle and finished eighth in a time of 4:11.58.

Event highlights will be streamed live on GBSport.TV

The British Gas GBR Team selected for the event is:

Rob Bale British Gas ITC Stirling
Ryan Bennett British Gas ITC Stirling
David Carry British Gas ITC Stockport
Ross Davenport British Gas ITC Loughborough
James Goddard British Gas ITC Stockport
Grant Halsall Plymouth Leander
Antony James Plymouth Leander
Iain MacMillan British Gas ITC Stockport
Andrew Mayor British Gas ITC Stirling
Joseph Parker Plymouth Leander
Joseph Patching Plymouth Leander
Michael Rock British Gas ITC Stockport
Joe Roebuck Loughborough University
Jamie Ross British Gas ITC Stirling
Douglas Scott British Gas ITC Stirling
Jak Scott British Gas ITC Stirling
Dan Sliwinski British Gas ITC Stockport
Lewis Smith British Gas ITC Stirling
Russ Smith British Gas ITC Stirling
Christopher Steeples Derventio
Liam Tancock British Gas ITC Loughborough
Jamie Thorpe City of Leicester
Grant Turner British Gas ITC Loughborough
Josh Walsh British Gas ITC Stirling
Sophie Allen British Gas ITC Stockport
Kerry Buchan British Gas ITC Stirling
Lucy Ellis British Gas ITC Stirling
Francesca Halsall British Gas ITC Loughborough
Joanne Jackson British Gas ITC Loughborough
Phoebe Lenderyou City of Newcastle
Jessica Lloyd City of Manchester
Emma Saunders City of Manchester
Lizzie Simmonds British Gas ITC Loughborough
Amy Smith Loughborough University
Sophie Smith City of Leicester
Jessica Thielmann City of Newcastle
Lauren Quigley City of Manchester
Emma Wilkins Plymouth Leander
Aimee Wilmott Middlesborough

European Champs 2016