Go Swimming has everything you need to know about swimming. If you are a parent, a non swimmer or just want to improve your technique this is the section for you.

In British Swimming you will find information about the world of high performance sport, including the disciplines of Swimming, Diving, Synchronised Swimming, Water Polo and Para-Swimming.

The ASA is the governing body for the sport in England. In this section you will find all you need to know about joining a club or competing in England and becoming a swimming teacher or coach.

The IoS delivers the ASA’s courses and is a member organisation. Whether you are a teacher, coach, employer or club you will find everything you need to know about qualifications or educating your workforce.

Accessibility - Text Only - Display Options - Accessibility

Pavoni secures European bronze

20 August 2014

Roberto Pavoni won bronze in the 200m Individual Medley at the European Championships in Berlin. 

The British Champion had an impressive swim to win his first senior international medal. 

The Loughborough swimmer kept pace with the rest of the front runners to finish 0.12 seconds behind gold winner Laszlo Cseh (Hungary). Silver was won by Philip Heintz (Germany).

Pavoni said: "The hard part of the race happened between lanes three and five, and I was only lane six, so I could not see what was going on, except for my direct neighbour. So, it came as a surprise to clinch a medal. It is my very first international medal at this level.”

In the 1500m Freestyle Stephen Milne finished in a Scottish record 14:53.83 for fourth place, while Jay Lelliott also swam a new personal best to touch in 14:58.74 for fifth. 

Ross Murdoch and Andrew Willis went head to head in the 200m Breaststroke semi-final, with Murdoch touching just ahead of Willis to go through as the fastest qualifier. The pair will be split in tomorrow’s final by Germany’s Marco Koch.

Also progressing to tomorrow’s finals are Jaz Carlin (800m Freestyle), Aimee Willmott (200m Individual Medley), Georgia Davies (100m Backstroke) and Chris Walker-Hebborn (50m Backstroke).

European Champs 2016