Go Swimming has everything you need to know about swimming. If you are a parent, a non swimmer or just want to improve your technique this is the section for you.

In British Swimming you will find information about the world of high performance sport, including the disciplines of Swimming, Diving, Synchronised Swimming, Water Polo and Para-Swimming.

The ASA is the governing body for the sport in England. In this section you will find all you need to know about joining a club or competing in England and becoming a swimming teacher or coach.

The IoS delivers the ASA’s courses and is a member organisation. Whether you are a teacher, coach, employer or club you will find everything you need to know about qualifications or educating your workforce.

Accessibility - Text Only - Display Options - Accessibility

Scotland announces Commonwealth Games aquatics squad

12 June 2014

Scottish Swimming has announced their aquatics squad for the 2014 Commonwealth Games. The team of 44 athletes includes 42 swimmers and two divers.

Also announced today was the coaching line-up for the aquatics squad with Laurel Bailey (Warrender Baths Club), Ann Dickson (Perth City Swimming Club), Ben Higson (University of Stirling), Chris Jones (Edinburgh University Swim Team), Jenny Leeming (Edinburgh Diving Club), Gary Paterson (South Aberdeenshire) and Mat Trodden (East Lothian Swim Team) selected to support Head Coach, Graham Wardell.

Speaking ahead of the announcement, Wardell said: “For the past eight months we have been working with the Nations best swimmers and divers, bringing them together to train, to work, to relax, to get to know each other. The resulting team announced for Glasgow has already developed a bond and a strength that we will take into the Games and am really looking forward to the final few weeks of preparation.”

Athletes selected to represent Scotland at the Commonwealth Games:


  • Katie Armitage (Hatfield)
  • Ryan Bennett (University of Stirling)
  • Craig Benson (Warrender)
  • Cameron Brodie (University of Stirling)
  • Martin Cremin (Stirling Swimming)
  • Erraid Davies (Delting Dolphins)
  • Kathleen Dawson (Warrington Warriors)
  • Fiona Donnelly (Nova Centurion/Virgin Polytechnic Institute & State University)
  • Megan Gilchrist (Swansea Performance)
  • Craig Hamilton (Warrender & Louisiana State University)
  • Sian Harkin (University of Stirling)
  • Camilla Hattersley (City of Glasgow)
  • Lucy Hope (BEST)
  • Michael Jamieson (Edinburgh University and University of Bath)
  • Kathryn Johnstone (Edinburgh University)
  • Rory Lamont (West Dunbartonshire)
  • Rachel-Louise Masson (South Aberdeenshire)
  • Caitlin McClatchey (Edinburgh University)
  • Andrew McGovern (COAST)
  • Kieran McGuckin (Edinburgh University)
  • Craig McNally (Warrender)
  • Hannah Miley (Garioch)
  • Gareth Mills (City of Sheffield)
  • Stephen Milne (Perth City)
  • Ross Muir (University of Stirling)
  • Ross Murdoch (University of Stirling)
  • Jack Ness (COAST)
  • Rachel O’Donnell (Carnegie SC)
  • Robbie Renwick (City of Glasgow Swim Team)
  • Craig Rodgie (Edinburgh University)
  • Richard Schafers (Edinburgh University)
  • Corrie Scott (Edinburgh University)
  • Duncan Scott (FIRST)
  • Jak Scott (University of Stirling)
  • Lewis Smith (University of Stirling)
  • Andrea Strachan (Edinburgh University)
  • Calum Tait (Edinburgh University)
  • Aisha Thornton (Loughborough University)
  • Jack Thorpe (Edinburgh University)
  • Mark Tully (ELST)
  • Daniel Wallace (Warrender/University of Florida)
  • Joe Welstead (Stirling Swimming)


  • James Heatly (Edinburgh Diving Club)
  • Grace Reid (Edinburgh Diving Club)
European Champs 2016