Go Swimming has everything you need to know about swimming. If you are a parent, a non swimmer or just want to improve your technique this is the section for you.

In British Swimming you will find information about the world of high performance sport, including the disciplines of Swimming, Diving, Synchronised Swimming, Water Polo and Para-Swimming.

The ASA is the governing body for the sport in England. In this section you will find all you need to know about joining a club or competing in England and becoming a swimming teacher or coach.

The IoS delivers the ASA’s courses and is a member organisation. Whether you are a teacher, coach, employer or club you will find everything you need to know about qualifications or educating your workforce.

Accessibility - Text Only - Display Options - Accessibility

Simmonds and Willis secure gold medals in Canet

6th June 2012

British swimmers continued their Olympic preparation tour of the Mare Nostrum series with two gold medals, a silver and three bronze in Canet.

Golds went to Lizzie Simmonds (British Gas ITC Loughborough) in the Women’s 100m Backstroke when she touched in 1:00.71 and Andrew Willis (British Gas ITC Bath) won the Men’s 200m Breaststroke in 2:12.66.

Fran Halsall (British Gas ITC Loughborough) won the first of her two medals on day one in the Women’s 50m Freestyle. Gold went to Therese Alshammer of Sweden in 24.61, Halsall took the silver in 24.92 and Inge Dekker of the Netherlands claimed the bronze in 24.94. Loughborough University’s Amy Smith was fifth in 25.41.

Halsall’s second medal of the session came with a bronze in the Women’s 100m Butterfly in a time of 58.97. Gold went to Ingvild Snildal of Norway in 58.53 and Katerine Savard of Canada took the silver in 58.56.

Chris Walker-Hebborn (British Gas ITC Bath) and Liam Tancock (British Gas ITC Loughborough) both went in the final of the Men’s 100m Backstroke and it was Walker-Hebborn who made it to the podium.

Gold went to Camille Lacourt of France in 54.24, silver to Ben Treffers of Australia in 54.32 and Walker-Hebborn just pushed Tancock out for the bronze when he touched in 55.26.

There were bronze medals for Caitlin McClatchey and Jo Jackson (both British Gas ITC Loughborough) in the Women’s 200m Freestyle and 800m Freestyle respectively.

McClatchey narrowly lost a tough battle for silver with a time of 1:57.90, silver eventually went to Femke Heemskerk of the Netherlands in 1:57.78 while gold went to Camille Muffat of France in the fourth fastest time in history - 1:54.66.

Jackson’s performance saw her touch the wall in 8:40.05. Gold went to Kristel Kobrich of Mexico in 8.35.35 and silver to Yirong Bi of China in 8.35.76.

European Champs 2016