Full England swimming squad for Gold Coast 2018 announced

Swimming News

The final selections for the Team England swimming squad for the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games have been announced today.

Among the line-up is double Commonwealth silver medallist Aimee Willmott, Commonwealth champion James Wilby and Paralympic, World, European and Commonwealth gold medallist Ollie Hynd.

Wilby swam the breaststroke leg in the heats for England’s gold medal-winning 4x100m Medley Relay quartet at the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealths.

The York-born swimmer secured his place on the team at the Swim England National Winter Championships 2017 where he ducked under the consideration time twice and won a hat-trick of gold medals.

Commenting on his selection, Wilby said: “The Commonwealth Games is always an enjoyable experience.

“Glasgow 2014 was the first international meet that I ever competed in, and it’s always good because it’s known as the friendly games. It’s good to get some experience and race against some great guys.”

Hynd ready to defend Commonwealth title

Mansfield-born Hynd is no stranger to the senior ranks in swimming. As well as winning the para-swimming grand slam of Paralympic, World, European and Commonwealth golds, Hynd holds world records in the 200m and 400m Freestyle (S8) and the SM8 200m Individual Medley.

The Gold Coast 2018 will be Hynd’s second appearance for Team England at a Commonwealth Games, having made his debut at Glasgow 2014.

The 23-year-old said: “I am very proud to be selected for my second Commonwealth Games.

“It’s a great privilege to represent Team England. I can’t wait to get out to Gold Coast and experience the amazing atmosphere of the Games.

“I’ve been working very hard in the pool to be in the best shape possible and try to defend the title I gained four years ago in Glasgow.”

Willmott heads to her third Games

Willmott is one of the most experienced athletes in the squad, this being her third outing for Team England.

The Middlesbrough-born swimmer experienced her first major international at Delhi 2010, and then claimed two silvers at Glasgow 2014.

She secured her place on the 2018 team when she took the title in the 400m Individual Medley at the Swim England National Winter Championships 2017 with a swim that ducked under the consideration time.

Commenting on her selection, Willmott said: “My first memories of senior swimming were at the Commonwealth Games. I swam at Delhi and I was one of the youngest on the team. This time round I’ll be one of the oldest on the team.

“It’s a great environment for swimmers from England to make the team and get that experience. That’s one of the great things about the Commonwealths.”

Also announced today are three additions to the Team England coaching staff; Head Coach at Newcastle SC Ryan Livingstone, Loughborough University Performance Coach Ian Hulme and Millfield School’s Director of Swimming, Euan Dale.

  • Click here to find out more about the Team England swimming coaching and support staff.
  • Click here to read more about the first 15 athletes selected on 4 October 2017

Today’s additions to the Team England swimming squad

  • Abbie Wood (Loughborough University)
  • Aimee Willmott (University of Stirling)
  • Alice Tai (NPC /Bournemouth Collegiate School)
  • Anna Hopkin (Ealing SC)
  • Anna Maine (Woking SC)
  • Cameron Kurle (University of Bath SC)
  • Chloe Golding (City of Manchester Aquatics)
  • David Cumberlidge (Edinburgh University)
  • Eleanor Robinson (Northampton Swimming Club)
  • Elliot Clogg (Loughborough University)
  • Jacob Leach (Cockermouth SC)
  • Jacob Peters (Poole SC)
  • James Wilby (Loughborough University)
  • Jarvis Parkinson (Loughborough University)
  • Jessica Fullalove (University of Bath SC)
  • Jessica Jackson (Plymouth Leander SC)
  • Joe Litchfield (City of Sheffield)
  • Jonathan Fox (NPC /City of Manchester Aquatics)
  • Laura Stephens (Plymouth Leander SC)
  • Lewis White (City of Derby Swimming Club)
  • Oliver Hynd (Nova Centurion SC)
  • Rosie Rudin (City of Sheffield)
  • Thomas Fannon (Plymouth Leander SC)
  • Thomas Hamer (NPC / City of Manchester Aquatics)

Athletes selected on 4 October

  • Adam Peaty (Loughborough University)
  • James Guy (Millfield School)
  • Ben Proud (Plymouth Leander SC)
  • Siobhan-Marie O’Connor (University of Bath SC)
  • Molly Renshaw (Loughborough University)
  • Eleanor Faulkner (City of Sheffield)
  • Andrew Willis (Bracknell & Wokingham SC)
  • Max Litchfield (City of Sheffield)
  • Lizzie Simmonds (Edinburgh University)
  • Freya Anderson (Ellesmere College Titans SC)
  • Sarah Vasey (Loughborough University)
  • Luke Greenbank (Loughborough University)
  • Jocelyn Ulyett (Loughborough University)
  • Holly Hibbott (Stockport Metro)
  • Emily Large (Newcastle Swim Team)