Lancashire are the most successful county in the history of the County Team Champs, having won the title 20 times, including for 14 consecutive years between 2002 and 2015.

Lancashire County shield
  • Division: One
  • Last Year: 2nd in Division One (486 points)
  • Twitter: @SwimLancashire
  • Honours: Winners 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1982, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015; Runners-up 1974, 1997, 1999, 2016; Third in 1990, 1993, 2000

Lancashire at the County Team Champs

Lancashire are the most dominant team in County Team Championship history, having won the event 20 times in total, including for 14 consecutive years between 2002 and 2015.

Niamh Robinson and Olivia Herron both picked up maximum points for the county 12 months ago as they finished on 486 points – just seven shy of their title-winning tally from 2015.

Robinson touched first in the 16/17 Yrs 100m Fly while Herron was one of the eye-catchers in the youngest age group as she put nearly two seconds on the field as a debutante in the 12/13 Yrs 100m Breast.

Stockport Metro’s Herron looks set to defend her crown in the 100m Breast at this year’s Champs, as well as taking on the 100m Fly for which she is fourth fastest on paper.

Lancashire boast a typical wealth of talent as they aim to recapture the overall title. Ellesmere College Titans’ Pia Murray holds the second fastest 100m Back entry and the fastest entry in the 14/15 Yrs 100m Fly, having finished fourth in the same age group last year.

Murray’s Ellesmere teammate Kyo Tanner is also second fastest entry in the 14/15 Yrs 100m Free, having claimed the 15 Yrs 50m Free title at the 2017 British Summer Champs.

City of Manchester’s Jack O’Brien has a good track record at the event, winning the 14/15 Yrs 100m Breast in 2015 before second place in the 16/17 Yrs last time out.

Pioneer 79’s Ben Martin also returns for his second year in the top age group, holding the third fastest entry time in the blue riband 100m Free after a fourth place finish in 2016.

Roster 2017
100m Free
Chiara TommaselloCity of Manchester Aquatics131:03.55
Samuel EllisCity of Liverpool SC1457.89
Holly WhiteCity of Liverpool SC1558.41
Kyo TannerEllesmere College Titans SC1553.29
Emma WhittinghamSouthport SC1758.60
Ben MartinPioneer 79 Swimming Club1751.47
100m Back
Chiara TommaselloCity of Manchester Aquatics131:06.29
Gabriel Taylor-RimmerBolton Metro Swimming Squad131:10.36
Gabriel GlynnHorwich Leisure Centre SC141:02.91
Pia MurrayEllesmere College Titans SC151:03.12
Emily PeckPreston SC161:04.89
Matthew GeorgeCity of Salford SC1759.58
100m Breast
Olivia HerronStockport Metro SC131:11.84
Jake ReynoldsHorwich Leisure Centre SC131:11.38
Charlotte HulmeRamsbottom SC151:15.04
Ben McEvoyCity of Salford SC151:10.39
Emily LawrencePreston SC171:12.60
Jack O'BrienCity of Manchester Aquatics171:03.73
100m Fly
Olivia HerronStockport Metro SC131:05.99
Ellis CleworthCity of Liverpool SC131:02.61
Pia MurrayEllesmere College Titans SC151:01.62
Ewan WilsonCity of Salford SC151:02.31
Emily KeaysCity of Salford SC171:03.34
Alisdair StoutCity of Manchester Aquatics1756.94
Kirsten DronsfieldCity of Manchester Aquatics13
Meadow DronsfieldCity of Manchester Aquatics13
Nathan HolmesPreston SC13
Lucy HardeyCity of Liverpool SC15