Three defending champions return for 2015 Champs

City of Liverpool U19s champions 2014 age group water polo

Three of last year’s ASA National Age Group Water Polo Championship winners have confirmed their intention to defend their title after entries closed for the 2015 Champs.

Solihull won the Boys U19 title for the first time in their history last year and return with six of the 13 who lined up in last year’s final, including Jordan Elliot who played with the British U19 team at last year’s European Championship qualifiers in Malta.

But there will be another 10 teams vying for their crown, including two from Manchester, for whom U19 internationals Aaron Winstanley and Dylan Green will be playing for the firsts.

The women’s U19 title has gone to either City of Manchester or City of Liverpool since the inaugural competition in 2004 and both will fancy their chances of reaching the Finals again with just seven teams entered.

Manchester to make most of internationals Huck and Andrew

Manchester call upon the experience of Rosie Huck and Katy Andrew, who represented the British women’s senior team in their World League campaign last year, while Izzy Howe and goalkeeper Megan Gaunt helped the GB U19s finish seventh at last year’s European Champs.

Defending champions Liverpool may have lost the experience of last year’s captain Lauren Tasker but they have plenty of GB age group internationals in their squad, including Beth Bolton, Hayley Price, Grace Rowland and Verity McCoy.

London Otter could be an intriguing rival to the North West giants with seven of their 10 from last year’s title-winning U17s team making the step up in age group, including last year’s British U17 captain Izzy Dean.

Otter will aim to defend their U17 title as well and have retained the likes of Drew Goold, Sarah Rogers and goalkeeper Natalie Andrew from last year’s squad while the boys U17 competition features the biggest field with 12 teams and is the only event where the defending champions, Croydon, will not be entered.

Last year’s runners-up Invicta do return for another shot at the trophy while 2013 champions City of Manchester will also be in the mix.

Head to our Meet The Teams page to find out more about each club entered in this year’s ASA National Age Group Water Polo Championships.


website: Skylab