Wavepower 2016-19: Child safeguarding policy and procedures for clubs

To help clubs with child welfare we produce our Wavepower publication. This is our child safeguarding policies and procedures publication.

Wavepower must be adopted by all Swim England affiliated clubs and organisations. The latest version and can be download below.

Ensuring child safety should be a key part of how our clubs operate. It helps to provide a safe, happy and fun environment where children can learn to swim and develop their skills.

The responsibility to safeguard children does not belong to any one person. Instead it belongs to everyone who plays a part in delivering our sporting activities.

Wavepower is intended for anyone involved in these activities and offers practical guidance and information on mandatory requirements and good practice.

This publication will be fully updated in 2020, but if any new guidance or policy changes are released prior to this, then pages will be updated or added to this section of the website.

Wavepower 2016-19 Download

Wavepower is a large document. We have split it into sections for easier access. Files are in PDF format.

  • Index  Full index with page numbers
  • Contents  Information and contents
  • Section 1  Introduction to Wavepower (Pages 8-17)
  • Section 2  Toolbox (Pages 18-89)
  • Section 3  Child safeguarding responsibilities  (Pages 90-93)
  • Section 4  Guidance for coaches, teachers and poolside helpers (Pages 94-105)
  • Section 5  Templates, forms and checklist (Pages 106-123)

We hope you find this publication useful and welcome any feedback you may have. Send us an email at signposting@swimming.org.

Further guidance on welfare

As well as Wavepower there are other welfare publications and resources clubs may find useful.

NSPCC and CPSU Guidance

There are also a range of documents in the Swim England library. You can access these below. Simply click or tap to download.

Other safeguarding resources

County and Regional Welfare Officers

Enter the name of your county or region below and the search will automatically filter.

Click or tap the plus symbol for a county or region to view the full contact details.

To edit details, please contact joanne.garey@swimming.org.

County / Region
Name
Contact
Swim North West RegionAllan FreemanAllan.freeman@outlook.com
CheshireAllan FreemanAllan.freeman@outlook.com
CumbriaVacantVacant
LancashireBrian BoyleBrianboyle1@sky.com & 01925 637220
Swim North East RegionChris Hallidaynerwelfareofficer@asaner.org.uk
Northumberland & DurhamTracy Donnellydonnelly.777@zen.co.uk
YorkshireDr Cheryl Lyonswelfare@yorkshireswimming.org
East RegionJoanne Stalleywelfare@eastswimming.org
BedfordshireSuzanne Felcewelfare@bedscountyasa.com
CambridgeshireCarol Barriosbarrioscarol@hotmail.com
EssexCheryl Elliswelfare@essexswimming.org
HertfordshireKaren Stephenswelfare@hertsasa.org.uk
NorfolkVacantVacant
SuffolkRoberta (Bobbi) WilsonWilson.family1@talktalk.net
South East RegionShelley Robinsonwelfare@southeastswimming.org
Berkshire & South BucksRoger Penfoldsecretary@bsbasa.org
Oxfordshire & North BucksVacantVacant
SussexChris Hobbschris.hobbs54@sky.com
HampshireGraham Stanleywelfareofficer@hampshireswimming.org
London RegionWelfare.officer@londonswimming.org
MiddlesexMaria Abramswelfare@middlesexswimming.com
KentAnn HuntAnn.hunt@kentswimming.org
SurreyJeni Colbournewelfare@surreyasa.co.uk
EssexCheryl Elliswelfare@essexswimming.org
East Midlands RegionVacantVacant
DerbyshireTracie Wardtracie.ward60@gmail.com & 07857690083
LeicestershireUrsula Beckwelfare@leicestershireasa.org or ubeckursula@hotmail.com
LincolnshireVacantVacant
NottinghamshireVacantVacant
NorthamptonshireVacantVacant
West Midlands RegionVacantVacant
ShropshireJean Childschilds234@btinternet.com & 07876596043
StaffordshireKate Mullinderkatem@staffsasa.co.uk
WarwickshirePam Daviesbwbdavies@btinternet.com
WorcestershireMalcolm RossMross.berrycottage@btinternet.com & 07939265833
South West RegionMarion BrittonMarion_britton@yahoo.co.uk
CornwallMartin MacDonaldmacandsandy@btinternet.com
WiltshireMaurice Cleavermaurice.e.cleaver@btinternet.com
DevonAndrew GiessWelfare.officer@devonswimming.org.uk
DorsetVacantVacant
GloucestershireRachel Robertsrmbroberts1@gmail.com
SomersetTristan Aldridgetris00455@gmail.com
Top