Stage 5 of the ASA Learn to Swim Framework

In Stage 5 of the ASA Learn to Swim Framework, your swimmers will focus on swimming all four strokes to the ASA expected standards. Swimmers will also develop skills in sculling, treading water and complete rotation.


By the end of Stage 5 of the ASA Learn to Swim Framework, your pupils should have reached 12 outcomes (full details are contained in the Teacher's Complete Framework). Swimmers should complete these outcomes without support:

1. Perform a horizontal stationary scull on the back
2. Perform a feet first sculling action for 5 metres whilst horizontal on the back
3. Perform a sculling sequence with a partner for 30-45 seconds to include a rotation
4. Tread water for 30 seconds
5. Perform three different shaped jumps into deep water
6. Swim 10 metres backstroke (refer to the ASA expected stroke standards sheet)
7. Swim 10 metres front crawl face in the water (refer to the ASA expected stroke standards sheet)
8. Swim 10 metres breaststroke (refer to the ASA expected stroke standards sheet)
9. Swim 10 metres butterfly (refer to the ASA expected stroke standards sheet)
10. Perform a handstand and hold for a minimum of three seconds
11. Perform a forward somersault, tucked, in the water
12. Demonstrate an action for getting help

Don't forget a child who can complete all of these outcomes is eligible for an ASA National Plan Award for Stage 5. You can also encourage them through the stage with an ASA Rainbow Distance Award 25m, the ASA Rainbow Stroke Awards, the Water Skills Award Grade 4 and the National Curriculum Water Skills Award


Looking for a fun way to teach sculling... then let's "Follow the Leader".
Players take turns to be the leader. The leader of each pair or group begins by standing still and moves off on a signal to travel in different directions; head first, feet first and in different ways e.g. moving, tucked, prone (face down) or supine (face up).

Change the leader to make sure everyone gets a turn.

For more tips on how to draw out the FUNdamental Movement Skills of this game, along with teaching tips on equipment, rules and safety and ways to make the game easier or harder, read our ASA Learn to Swim Framework Games Pack.

Tips for Stage 5

You may find that during Stage 5 that parents question why butterfly is compulsory as part of the framework They don’t see why their children have to learn butterfly if they aren’t interested in being competitive swimmers. Interestingly enough, the parents who complain are the ones whose children are struggling to learn the stroke (see tips for Stage 4).

Making butterfly compulsory is a culture change for the framework and a challenge for many centres, but in many countries butterfly is taught alongside the other three strokes successfully and swimmers do not struggle any more then they do with breakstroke. The dolphin kick is an important skill used in other areas, so developing this and the stroke is an important step forward. As time goes on soon parents  will be used to the teaching of all four strokes and the swimmers will be better swimmers as a consequence.

Teacher's GuideReturn to the NPTS

If you are looking for the most relevant information about how to deliver the framework then visit theiosonline.  Theiosonline offers the most up-to-date training around the framework.

>>Go to Stage 6 of the ASA Learn to Swim Framework

Baby Swimming Lesson Guidelines - Parents Sign up to the ASA School Swimming Charter. We're taking swimming seriously, are you? IoS Training For Level 2 Teaching Qualifications Purchase today