About the National Age Group Champs

The Swim England Diving National Age Group Championships is the largest national diving competition in England with athletes battling for national honours across four different age groups.

The event features 1m, 3m and Platform competitions over four different age groups – Group A (16 – 18 Years), Group B (14 – 15 Years), Group C (12 – 13 Years) and Group D (9 – 11 Years).

Swim England Diving National Age Group Championships 2020

This year’s National Age Group Championships has been cancelled.

Read our news story about the cancellation to find out more.

What can I expect from the National Age Group Champs?

The competition sees some of the country’s top young divers competing individually from the 1m and 3m Springboards and the Platform, and as synchronised pairs from the 1m and 3m Springboard.

The youngest divers will be between nine and 11 years old, competing in the Group D category, while Group C will feature 12 and 13-year olds, Group B will be for 14 and 15-year olds, and the highest age group, Group A, will see 16, 17 and 18-year olds in action.

Divers in Group D will contest the Platform event from the 5m while Group C athletes can dive from the 5m or 7.5m and the older two age groups can dive from the 5m, 7.5m or 10m.

The 9-13 years synchronised event will be from the 1m Springboard while the 14-18 years synchro will be from the 3m.

The Swim England Diving National Age Group Championships form an important step for young divers on the pathway to the top of the sport.

Once an athlete has competed at a NAG Diving Champs, they become ineligible – except in certain circumstances – to compete at the National Skills Finals, the step below NAGs.

Similarly, divers who have competed at either the British Diving Championships or the British Elite Junior Diving Championships are ineligible to compete at a NAGs.

What happened last year?

City of Sheffield were crowned top club at last year’s National Age Groups.

Head to our news pages to read reports from every session of the 2019 Championships.