Join our Online Community and help make a difference

Great Britain team selected for European Junior Open Water Championships

Great Britain will take a team of 10 junior marathon swimmers to the LEN European Junior Open Water Championships in the Czech Republic.

The four-day event will be hosted in the Czech village of Racice from 1-4 August, with Thanet Swim Club’s Maisie Macartney headlining the British team.

Macartney will make her senior World Championships debut in Gwangju next month, competing in the 5km open water race.

The youngster, who is part of the Swim England Performance Squad, has enjoyed an impressive rise through the junior open water ranks.

She was named the Talent Athlete of the Year for open water at the 2018 Swim England National Awards, following a fourth place finish at the FINA World Junior Championships in Israel.

Macartney will be joined in Racice by another member of Swim England’s Talent Pathway, Nathan Hughes.

Talented group of athletes

Hector Pardoe, a three-time medallist at World Junior and European Junior level, will fancy his chances of adding more silverware, with Isaac Dodds and Iona MacLeod also selected in the strong British team.

Swim England National Open Water Technical Lead, Mike Parker, said: “The team is an exciting mix of experience and those starting out on their international marathon swimming journey.

“The majority of the team have been exposed to open water swimming through their involvement in the Swim England Open Water Development Pathway.

“The experiences and knowledge they have gained at the various stages of this programme will prove invaluable as they move through to junior international level marathon swimming.

“This is a talented group of athletes, who will relish the challenge and opportunity of competing against the best in Europe.”

Great Britain team

  • Isaac Dodds (Swim England National Development Programme)
  • Nathan Hughes (Swim England Performance Squad)
  • Jackson O’Rourke (Swim England Junior Squad)
  • Hector Pardoe (Former Swim England Junior Squad member)
  • Jevon Penny (Swim England Junior Squad)
  • Ella Dyson (Swim England Junior Squad)
  • Maisie Macartney (Swim England Performance Squad)
  • Iona MacLeod
  • Amelia Rodd (Swim England Junior Squad)
  • Emilia Sansome (Swim England Performance Squad)

Following the cancellation of the Great North Swim – which was due to act as the original selection meet – all swimmers have been selected under clause 3.2 of British Swimming’s selection policy.