Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

Rollinson reaps reward after debuting dive at British Elite Junior Championships

Luton Diving Club’s Amy Rollinson topped the podium at the British Elite Junior Diving Championships after performing one of her divers for the first time in competition.

The former Swim England Team Y diver, who is currently part of the British Diving Junior Squad, debuted her 305c, reverse 2 ½ somersaults tucked, on day three in Southend.

It was the highest scoring dive of the Girls Group A 1m final, racking up 63.00 points, with Rollinson the only athlete to take on the high difficulty dive.

The final saw a strong, high quality field with some fantastic diving on display, but the Luton athlete came out on top with an overall score of 419.65 to win gold.

Dive London’s Desharne Bent-Ashmeil, also a former Team Y athlete, claimed the silver medal with her score of 392.15. The bronze medallist was Southampton’s Maya Kutty with 385.45.

Rollinson and Bent-Ashmeil had continued their good form after teaming up to win the Girls’ 14-18 3m Synchro title earlier in the competition.

Suzie Collins, Swim England talent development officer for diving, said: “It was great to see such a high standard of diving in the Girls Group A 1m final and it was an exceptional performance from Amy Rollinson to take the gold!”

Fisher-Eames flourishes in final

There was more success for Luton Diving Club in the Boys Group B Platform final as Jorden Fisher-Eames topped the podium.

Fisher-Eames, who graduated from Swim England’s Team Z in January, was the only athlete to have two dives break the 70 point barrier in the final.

He scored 75.20 for his back 2 ½ somersaults, 1 ½ twists piked and 70.20 for his inward 2 ½ somersaults tucked, achieving an overall total of 432.05 to win gold.

City of Sheffield Theo Wellington racked up 387.90 points to earn the silver medal, with a commemorative silver also being awarded to Canada’s Arnaud Corbeil (395.40).

Juliette doubles up

Juliette John of Crystal Palace Diving Club added to her Group C 1m victory on day two with another gold in the Girls Group C Platform final.

There wasn’t much to separate John and her teammate, Lexie Clarke, who finished in second place to secure a one-two for their club.

John finished just 10.55 points ahead of Clarke to earn the gold medal. Her overall score was 284.55.

Clarke’s silver medal-winning score was 274.00, following by City of Sheffield’s Daisy Lindsay with 262.60 to take bronze.

Baker bags more gold

Southampton Diving Academy’s Leon Baker continued to add to his medal tally as he claimed his second gold of the competition.

After gold medal success in the Boys 14-18 Synchro 3m final, alongside Dive London’s Hugo Thomas, on the opening day, Baker stepped onto the podium again in the Boys Group A 1m final.

Baker started off strong with a score of 72.85 with his round one dive and went on to achieve a total of 505.10 to secure the gold medal.

Edinburgh’s Danny Mabbott (470.00) was the silver medallist and there was a tie for third place with both Dive London’s Thomas and Southampton’s Ollie Cazaly scoring 457.15.

A commemorative gold was awarded to Jake Passmore (523.65) and a commemorative bronze went to Canada’s Olivier Gauthier (472.50).

Three metre medallists shine

Amelie Underwood of Plymouth Diving was victorious in the Girls Group B 3m final.

She topped the scoring with 322.60 to finish ahead of Albatross Diving Club’s Lauren Saunders (308.45) in second and Southampton’s Elizabeth Hart (301.50) in third.

Sweden’s Signe Stahl was the commemorative gold medallist with a total of 337.75 and Juliet Radich (333.25) of Coral Springs Diving took a commemorative silver.

In the Boys Group C 3m final, City of Sheffield had two divers on the podium.

Sebastian Willcox achieved a gold medal-winning score of 304.90 and his teammate Simeon Greig scored 292.80 for bronze.

Finishing in between the City of Sheffield duo was Southampton’s Jed Brown in the silver medal position with 296.75.

The commemorative gold and silver medals went to Rydan Beau Russell of Coral Springs Diving and Team France’s Baptiste Allamanno respectively.