Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

BBC to broadcast live coverage of British Water Polo League Super 5s Finals

The BBC is to broadcast live coverage of the British Water Polo League’s Super 5s final weekend.

Six matches from the season finale, which will be held at Lancaster’s Salt Ayre pool on Saturday 23 and Sunday 24 March, will be featured on the red button, online and the BBC app.

Cheltenham, Lancaster, City of Manchester, Invite and Solihull are competing in the men’s competition, while Liverpool Lizards, Caledonia, City of Manchester, Otter and Coventry are in action in the women’s event.

Four Super 5s matches will be shown live on Saturday from 1.15pm, with coverage on Sunday starting at 9.30am and featuring two games.

David Andrews, BWPL chairman, said: “What that means, of course, is that, for the first time, the BWPL will be showcased to a worldwide audience.

“It’s a fantastic coup for BWPL. It follows two successful previous ventures with Sky Sports, none of which would have been possible without the wonderful support we continue to receive from our loyal sponsors.”

The Lancaster finale brings to a close another hectic, all-action BWPL season in which teams from England, Scotland and Wales play more than 450 matches in five men’s divisions and three women’s.

Only the top five qualify for the Super 5s – and the competition between those has been as intense as ever.

Reigning men’s champions Solihull managed to win only one of their first four matches, which has opened the way for City of Manchester and Cheltenham to push for honours, while Invicta are showing great form in third place.

It’s just as close in the women’s event with champions Otter and main challengers City of Manchester the current pacesetters. 

They drew their first meeting – and will clash again at Lancaster in front of the BBC cameras.

Andy Fuller, Swim England water polo development manager, said: “It’s encouraging to see the top teams in the country get the chance to showcase their talent to a wider audience.

“The BWPL is once again providing great entertainment for fans this season and we hope the coverage helps to grow interest in water polo.”

The BWPL was launched in 2010 following a merger between the former men’s National League and the women’s National League. 

Previous winners of the men’s competition have been Cheltenham (four times), Manchester, Lancaster and Solihull. 

City of Liverpool (three times), Otter (twice) and Manchester (twice) have dominated the women’s event.

To find out more about the competition, visit