Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

England squad announced for 2016 EU Nations Cup

The England U17 women’s water polo team have named 13 players who will be heading to Odense, Demark for the 2016 EU Nations Cup (1 to 3 April).

The tournament, which is being held at the University Swimming Pool in Odense, will see the English side compete against teams from Switzerland, Malta, Ireland, Wales, Czech Republic, England, South Africa and Denmark.

“The EU Nations Cup 2016 is a great opportunity for the players to experience an international competition,” Ian MacCallum, Head Coach

The squad includes Fleur Kennedy (Warley Water Polo) who was part of the Team GB squad that finished 11th at last year’s European Games in Baku, Azerbaijan.

Kennedy was also named MVP for the Midlands sides at the U18 inter-regionals earlier this month.

Speaking ahead of the tournament, Ian MacCallum, Head Coach, said: “The EU Nations Cup in Denmark is a great opportunity for the players to experience an international competition.

“It will also be an important starting point for them on the road to the European Championships in 2018 and we are all looking forward to the challenge.”

At last year’s tournament, the English side finished fifth following winning performances against Ireland, Scotland and this year’s host nation, Denmark.

The team competing at the 2016 EU Nations Cup includes:

  • Naya Patel – Grantham & Hucknall
  • Emily Pilkington – Sedgefield
  • Emily Watkins – Bristol
  • Jordan Parsons– Devonport Royal
  • Fleur Kennedy – Warley Water Polo
  • Sam Murby – Lancaster
  • Ellie Muncaster – Liverpool
  • Abbie Turner – Northampton
  • Sasha Tinkler-Davies – Otter
  • Frances Holder – Liverpool
  • Lauren Richardson – Leeds
  • Rebecca Lee – Manchester
  • Jennifer Herring – Exeter

2016 EU Nations Cup Team Staff:

Head Coach : Ian MacCallum
Assistant Coach : Andrew Wilson
Referee: Damien Taylor
Team Manager : Joan Dundee