GB men’s U19 squad named for important European Championships qualifiers

Great Britain have named a 15-strong squad to travel to Trebinje, Bosnia, for their crucial U19 European Championship qualifying campaign.

The men’s U19 squad have undergone strong preparation leading into the qualification round as they follow on from a training camp in Catalunya earlier this year.

This time around, they will compete at the indoor Olympic pool in Trebinje as they face off against France, Czech Republic, Finland and the hosts, Bosnia and Herzegovina, in Group A.

The fixtures get underway on Thursday 14 March and will conclude on Sunday 17 March. Only the top two teams will progress to the finals which take place in Bulgaria in September.

Great Britain will take on the Czech Republic in the opening fixture of the competition before playing two matches on Friday.

The first of those sees the squad line up against France in the morning, before facing Bosnia and Herzegovina in the evening.

After a rest day on Saturday, Great Britain will round out their competition with a match against Finland on Sunday.

The host nation are one hour ahead of the UK. All fixtures and timings can be found below.

Head coach, Tim Dunsbee, will lead the squad and making up the remainder of the team staff will be Sarah Dunsbee and James Jackson.

Rotherham Metro Water Polo Club’s Henry Jackson will captain the side which will see a total of 10 English clubs represented.


Thursday 14 March

Great Britain v Czech Republic, 4.15pm UK time

Friday 15 March

Great Britain v France, 8.45am UK time

Great Britain v Bosnia and Herzegovina, 4.15pm UK time

Sunday 17 March

Great Britain v Finland, 8.45am UK time

Great Britain men’s U19 squad for European Water Polo Championships qualification round in Trebinje, Bosnia, 14-17 March:

  • Ben Alderson, Sedgefield
  • Alastair Cook, Neptune’s WPSC
  • Cayden Down, Boldmere / Wurzburg
  • Callum Eccles, City of Sheffield Sheffield / Hucknall
  • Henry Jackson, Rotherham Metro Water Polo Club / Hucknall
  • Teddy Meeks, California Water Polo Club / Menlo Schools Water Polo Team
  • Louie McKie, Cheltenham
  • Felix Monaghan, Worthing
  • Reuben Powell, Exeter
  • Daniel Preston, Miami Riptides
  • Pierre Rivet, Beckenham Water Polo
  • Alexander Sharp, Stanford Water Polo
  • Will Thompson, City of Bristol / Wurzburg
  • Murray Dickson, Caledonia / Stirling (travelling reserve)
  • Aaron Downer, Cheltenham/Sydney University (travelling reserve)

Team staff:

  • Tim Dunsbee (head coach)
  • Sarah Dunsbee
  • James Jackson