Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

Diving stars recognised at ASA Aquatics Awards

Three diving stars were recognised at the ASA Aquatics Awards 2016 which took place in the Great Hall at the University of Birmingham.

The England Programmes Athlete of the Year for Diving award was presented to Cambridge Dive Team’s Ben Cutmore.

Performance Athletes of the Year for Diving went to Rio 2016 Olympic 3m Synchro champions Jack Laugher and Chris Mears.

Cutmore has been on the ASA England Programmes Youth Squad since he was nine years-old.

He won a hat-trick of gold medals at the Mediterranean Cup in Bolzano and shows a lot of promise in his discipline.

Cutmore said: “It feels really good to win an award. There are so many talented divers out there and on the England Programmes. To win this award, I am just so happy.

“I have to thank my family who drive me to training every day and my coach who helps me out. There are just so many other people who have been massive inspirations to me throughout my entire journey.”

Laugher and Mears in the limelight

Although they could not attend the ceremony to collect their awards, the ceremony recognised the achievements of Laugher and Mears at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

The pair became British Olympic heroes after they won Team GB’s first ever diving gold medal. They dominated the 3m Synchro event to take first place ahead of their Russian rivals.

Rio 2016 Paralympic S6 50m Butterfly champion, Ellie Robinson and 2016 Olympic diving bronze medallist Daniel Goodfellow presented the awards.

Jane Nickerson, interim Chief Executive of the ASA, said: “We have many fantastic people involved in our sport and the annual Aquatics Awards are our opportunity to recognise the great contribution that our volunteers, teachers, coaches and partners make every day.

“The Awards is also an opportunity to celebrate the many achievements within the aquatics community. From the individuals who have overcome personal obstacles to learn how to swim, to the athletes who have represented their Clubs and country.

“All our nominees are great ambassadors for our sport and it is wonderful to be able to recognise their achievements.”