Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

GB divers in seventh heaven at second leg of FINA Diving Grand Prix

The second leg of the FINA Diving Grand Prix in Canada saw British divers win a total of seven medals.

The first stage, which took place in Rostock, Germany, saw Britain earn just the one medal as Robyn Birch, of Dive London, won bronze in the women’s 10m Platform event.

But there was more success in Calgary as both Matthew Dixon and Scarlett Mew Jensen picked up two medals each.

Dixon won the first British medal as he scored 427.15 points to take bronze in the men’s 10m Platform, while his second came when he partnered with Jensen to win silver in the mixed 3m Synchronised event.

The duo finished on 275.10 to take second spot behind the home pair of Francois Imbeau-Dulac and Jennifer Abel (304.59), while they were 6.06 clear of Ireland’s Clare Cryan and Oliver Dingley.

In the women’s 3m Synchronised competition, Jensen teamed up with Maria Papworth and they scored a total of 268.50 to finishing in the bronze medal position.

They were less than two points behind the Australian pair of Georgia Sheehan and Esther Qin who won silver (270.00), while Canada’s Abel and Melissa Citrini Beaulieu were the bronze medallists.

Britain had two athletes on the podium in the men’s 3m Springboard.

James Heatly took the silver medal with a score of 476.65 ahead of Daniel Goodfellow (453.30), who continues his transition to the springboard.

Both were beaten by China’s Bowen Huang (498.05).

The remaining medals came in the women’s 10m and men’s 3m synchronised events.

Emily Martin and Phoebe Banks teamed up to score a total of 240.54 points and finish in bronze medal position in the platform event.

And Jordan Houlden and Anthony Harding totalling 384.39 points for silver in the springboard competition.

The next stage of the FINA Diving Grand Prix will take place in Mission Viejo, California, USA between April 11-14.

GB FINA Diving Grand Prix medal winners

  • Jordan Houlden/Anthony Harding, silver, men’s 3m Synchronised
  • James Heatly, silver, men’s 3m Springboard
  • Daniel Goodfellow, bronze, men’s 3m Springboard
  • Scarlett Mew Jensen/Maria Papworth, bronze, women’s 3m Synchronised.
  • Matthew Dixon bronze, men’s 10m Platform
  • Scarlett Mew Jensen/Matthew Dixon, silver, Mixed 3m Synchronised
  • Phoebe Banks/Emily Martin, broke, women’s 10m Synchronised

Picture: Sheffield Diving Twitter