Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

Adam claims first gold medal of National Summer Meet

Swimming News

Adam Whyborne claimed the first gold medal of the Swim England National Summer Meet with victory in the Men’s MC 100m Freestyle.

The Billingham S10 swimmer clocked 59.43 – just over a second quicker than his morning heat time of 1:00.44 – to earn 627 points and the title.

Portsmouth’s Dominic Redpath (S9) won the silver medal after recording a time of 1:03.45 to earn 622 points, while Mount Kelly’s Finlay Middleton (S8) was third in 1:05.64 for 615 points.

Wycombe District’s Katie Crowhurst won the Women’s MC 100m Freestyle with a points total of 563.

The S13 swimmer’s time of 1:10.29 ensured she finished four points ahead of Drew Stables (S9), of Cockermouth, and Jay McCabe (S9), of Derwentside, who were joint second.

Stables finished in 1:11.80, while McCabe clocked 1:13.92 as they both scored 559 points.

Men’s 100m Breaststroke

Sam Cornish won a silver medal in the Men's 12-13 Years 100m Breaststroke

In the 13-14 Years event, Harrison Jarvis produced a fantastic second 50m swim to take the gold medal.

The Thurrock swimmer trailed Sam Cornish, of Enfield, at the turn by 0.07 seconds but soon overtook him to win the title in 1:10.16 – 0.51 seconds ahead.

Aidan Fothergill, of Team Jorvik, was third in 1:11.19.

Jacob Armon, of Seals RSA, was home first in the 15 Years race in 1:08.49 and won a commemorative gold medal.

The Swim England Summer Meet gold was awarded to Chesham’s Luke Ibbeson, who finished in 1:09.22 – 0.49 seconds ahead of silver medallist Nikolai Khutoryanskiy, of Reading (1:09.71).

Royal Wolverhampton School’s Daniel Parsons won the bronze medal after recording 1:10.20.

Benjamin Fannon stormed to victory in the 16 Years 100m event.

He finished in 1:07.55 and was more than a second ahead of Guilford’s Cameron White (1:08.79), with Matthew Yeomans, City of Leeds, third in 1:08.92.

Anaconda’s Tommy Donavon was crowned Swim England Summer Meet champion after finishing in a personal best time of 1:05.49 in the 17 Years race.

He touched him just ahead of Thanet’s Alexander Boyd (1:05.97) and Wycombe District’s Charles Rayner (1:06.52).

Denmark’s Philip Greve was awarded a commemorative gold medal in the 18 Years and over event.

He finished in 1:02.65 – half-a-second ahead of Stockport Metro’s Kyle Boyek who won the Swim England Summer Meet gold in 1:03.15

Crawley’s George Hopkins took silver in 1:03.19, while Plymouth Leander’s Marcus Gardiner was the bronze medallist in a time of 1:03.34.

Women’s 100m Breaststroke

Halesowen's Olivia Jay won the gold medal in the Women's 16 Years 100m Breaststroke

Herimone Roe was a comprehensive winner in the Women’s 12-13 Years 100m Breaststroke.

She left the rest of the field in her wake as she won the gold medal in 1:13.32.

The race proved to be a fight for second behind City of Bradford’s Roe and it was Tiverton’s Jodie Dilks who took the silver (1:15.43) ahead of City of Manchester Aquatics’ Jessica Hanley (1:15.55)

In the 14 Years race, Ela Norton, of Hatfield, was first home in a time of 1:15.42.

Stockport Metro’s Amy West won the silver medal after recording 1:16.07, while Ella Bainbridge, North Lincs Swim Squad, was third in 1:16.50.

Jennifer Green, of Wigan BEST, clocked 1:14.61 to win the 16 years race.

The gold medallist was 0.69 seconds clear of second placed Olivia Clare, City of Manchester Aquatics, who recorded a time of 1:15.30.

Hillingdon’s Eleanor Williams won the bronze medal in 1:15.42.

Only 0.52 seconds separated the top three in the 16 Years event.

Olivia Jay, Halesowen, topped the podium after finishing in 1:16.02, with Thanet Swim’s Lily Jewell second on 1:16.49 and Southport’s Victoria Dawson third on 1:16.54.

In the 17 Years and over race, Denmark’s Josefine Pedersen won a commemorative gold medal after clocking 1:08.92.

The Swim England Summer Meet gold medal went to Mount Kelly’s Morgan Penney in 1:11.69.

Silver was won by City of Cambridge’s Kathryn Loveys (1:12.28), while West Norfolk’s Roxanne Uys claimed the bronze in 1:13.38.