English swimmers head to Hungary for 2016 European Junior Championships

A group of 24 English swimmers make up part of a 26-strong British squad who are heading to Hodmezovasarhely, Hungary for the 2016 European Junior Swimming Championships from the 6 – 10 July.

Amongst their ranks is 2015 European Games champion Abbie Wood, who scooped gold in the 400 Individual Medley in Azerbaijan last year, and will be looking to continue her form over the last 12 months.

She will be joined by Holly Hibbott, who also took a gold medal in Baku, clinching the 800m Freestyle, and Edward Baxter, who took a gold and a silver medal at the Commonwealth Youth Games in Samoa last year in the 100m and 200m Breaststroke events respectively.

British Swimming Head of Performance Pathway, Tim Jones, commented on the squad, “We’ve some good experience in the team including proven medallists at European Junior level. It will be the largest team we have taken to these Championships in recent years.

“We will be looking to embed some of the athlete and team behaviours that we know we need to see in the next generation of successful world and Olympic athletes. There will be a focus very much on process as a means to achieving the outcomes we work so hard for.”

English swimmers competing at the 2016 European Junior Swimming Championships

  • Edward Baxter (Cockermouth)
  • Elliot Clogg (City of Sheffield)
  • Tom Derbyshire (Royal Wolverhampton School)
  • Thomas Fannon (Plymouth Leander)
  • Nathan Hughes (Hatfield)
  • Joe Litchfield (Doncaster Dartes)
  • David Murphy (City of Oxford)
  • Freya Anderson (Ellesmere College Titans)
  • Layla Black (City of Leeds)
  • Emma Cain (Millfield)
  • Amelia Clynes (City of Leeds)
  • Hannah Featherstone (Sedgefield)
  • Isobel Griffiths (City of Birmingham)
  • Holly Hibbott (Southport/Stockport Metro)
  • Emily Large (Newcastle Swim Team)
  • Anna Maine (Woking)
  • Tazmin Pugh (Ellesmere College Titans)
  • Ciara Schlosshan (City of Leeds)
  • Laura Stephens (Plymouth Leander)
  • Abbie Wood (Loughborough University)
  • Lewis Clough (City of Salford)
  • Jamie O’Connor (Thanet)
  • Brodie Williams (Millfield)
  • Alex Wray (Deepings)