Jay Lelliott wins second title with 1500m Freestyle gold

Jay Lelliott landed his second gold on day three of the Swim England National Winter Championships 2017 at Ponds Forge, Sheffield.

The City of Sheffield swimmer had already won 400m Freestyle gold and 200m Freestyle over the first two days in Sheffield.

And he landed his third medal of the meet in the 1500m Freestyle, touching in 15:10.22 to finish three seconds clear of the field.

Second place went to Bath Uni’s Tom Derbyshire with his time of 15:13.21. Tobias Robinson of Loughborough Uni took the final spot on the podium with 15:25.04.

Parkinson and Cumberlidge tie for 100m Freestyle gold

Jarvis Parkinson and David Cumberlidge put in great performances to take gold from the outside lanes in the men’s 100m Freestyle final.

Parkinson set a new personal best time with his 49.81 effort, while Cumberlidge matched it to fall just outside of his best time set at the British Summer Championships earlier this year.

Cumberlidge said: “That was unexpected. It doesn’t happen often [to have a winner from outside lane]. But I knew I had to go fast in the first 50m and I just tried to hold on.”

Parkinson added: “It was a real surprise. I’ve had a shoulder injury so I’ve been doing a lot of kick work recently and I think that helped. I went in really open minded about it.

“I didn’t actually make the A final because I had a terrible heat. But then when I got in I just knew what I had to do and I went in there to win it.”

Second place went to Elliot Clogg of Lougborough Uni, claiming bronze with 50.06.

Nova Centurion win women’s 4x200m Free relay

Nova Centurion sailed to a decisive victory in the women’s 4x200m Freestyle Relay event.

They took the gold medal with almost six seconds to spare. Polly Holden, Freya Colbert, Mollie Wright and Annie Pearson swam a collective 8:24.56.

Silver went to City of Peterborough for their 8:30.86 effort, and bronze to Wandsworth with 8:54.61.


  • Click here to see full results from the Swim England National Winter Championships 2017.