Join our Online Community and help make a difference

Prokas completes National Summer Meet hat-trick with 50m Breaststroke title

Jess Prokas won her third title of the Swim England National Summer Meet 2019, winning the Women’s 14 Years 50m Breaststroke final.

The Cockermouth swimmer had already won gold in the 50m Freestyle and 200m Individual Medley, and qualified fastest from the breaststroke heats.

Prokas went under 34 seconds for the first time in her career, lowering her PB to an impressive 33.95s.

Tonbridge’s Erin Nisbet won the silver medal, while Plymouth Leander’s Claire Huellou ensured the final went to form as she took bronze.

Exeter City’s Flora Perkin won the 16 Years final for her second title in as many days.

Perkin was the only English swimmer in the final to break the 34-second mark, streaking away to victory in 33.83s.

Sevenoaks’ Madeleine Glen and City of Coventry’s Charlotte McClure completed the podium, while Canadian Madeline Spencer won a commemorative gold in 33.30s.

Hannah Woodcock also backed up for her second gold of the week, adding the 14 Years 50m Breaststroke to the 50m Freestyle title she won on Friday.

The Pershore swimmer had never swum below 35 seconds at the start of the day, but she was close to a 33, clocking 34.08s for the win.

Guildford City were again amongst the medals thanks to Amy Fowlds’ silver, while City of Birmingham’s Ellie Sibbald-Perkins – fresh from competing at the European Youth Olympic Festival – won bronze.

Georgina Wright went sub-34 for just the second time in her career – with both coming on day four at Ponds Forge – to win the 17 Years and Over title.

The Borough of Kirklees swimmer won gold in 33.21, ahead of Dartmoor’s Hollie Steer and Wirral Metro’s Georgia Hytner.

Sarah Hedges produced a blistering swim to win the 12/13 Years title.

The Grimbsy Aquatics swimmer improved her PB to 34.78s, with Rushmoor Royals’ Rosie Richards winning silver and City of Leeds’ Kasja Rickelton claiming bronze in a closely contested final.

Men’s 50m Breaststroke

Derwentside’s Joel O’Halleron completed a double by winning the Men’s 18 Years and Over 50m Breaststroke title.

The 100m Breaststroke champion had set a PB in the heats earlier in the day and went even quicker to win a packed final in 29.48s.

Loughborough University’s Joseph Murray was close behind to win silver in 29.59s, with Derventio’s Joshua Permberton taking the bronze medal.

Just over half a second separated O’Halleron from seventh-placed James King.

Tobi Sijuade was the only 17-year-old swimmer to go sub-30 seconds as he won gold in 29.96s.

The Thanet swimmer won the 50m Butterfly title last year.

Bishop Stortford’s Bryn Couser pipped Guildford City’s Cameron White to silver by just 0.05s.

Millfield’s Wyatt Walsh edged out West Norfolk’s Freddie Laws in a tight finish to the 16 Years final.

Walsh touched the wall in 30.81s, with Laws settling for silver in 30.95.

City of Lincoln’s Ethan Grace-Riches won bronze.

Nine swimmers finished within 0.71s as Newcastle’s Ryan Zhao won the 15 Years title.

Zhao clocked 31.17s as the lead swimmers looked to touch the wall simultaneously, with Stafford Apex’s Joe Stratton emerging as the silver medallist and Team Jorvik’s Aidan Fothergill winning bronze in 31.53s.

Jacob Stephen smashed his personal best for the second time in a day, winning the 13/14 Years final in 32.16s.

The Brentwood swimmer had only swum below 33 seconds for the first time in the heats.

Copeland’s Finley Quayle won silver in 32.53s, while City of Sunderland’s Alfie McGuire won bronze by just 0.05s.

Women’s MC 100m Butterfly

Georgia Sheffield won the Women’s MC 100m Butterfly title by almost 100 points with a brilliant lifetime best.

The City of Salford S14 swimmer, who won gold in the MC 200m Individual Medley on day two, touched the wall in 1:14.18 for a huge total of 646 points.

Borough of Kirklees’ S9 swimmer Aliya Bacakoglu was her nearest challenger, also scoring a superb 548 points.

City of Derby’s Megan Neave (S14) was just 13 points behind to win bronze.

Men’s MC 100m Butterfly

Owen Garsides beat Joe Seage by just three points to win the Men’s MC 100m Butterfly title.

Kingston Upon Hull’s Garsides won the MC 100m Breaststroke on the opening day and he added more gold with a total of 632 points.

His fellow S14 swimmer Seage, of Bassetlaw, touched the wall a tenth of a second later to leave him with the silver medal.

Basildon Phoenix’s Roan Brennan (S9) also broke the 600-point barrier, clocking 1:09.64 for 605 points.