Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

‘Exceptionally high-quality’ swimming team named for Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games

Twenty swimmers are set to make their Olympic debuts this summer after being picked as part of an ‘exceptionally high-quality’ Team GB for the rearranged Tokyo 2020 Games.

Following the recent British Swimming Selection Trials, a further 24 swimmers have been added to the team alongside Adam Peaty, James Wilby, Luke Greenbank and Duncan Scott who were pre-selected in January.

And while the vast majority will be making their first appearances at an Olympics, the team – which is made up of 20 English, four Scottish and four Welsh swimmers – is being tipped to ‘have a very successful Games’.

Aimee Willmott is the most experienced Olympics swimmer included as she is set for her third Games, while Peaty, Ben Proud, James Guy, Max Litchfield, Molly Renshaw, Duncan Scott and Ross Murdoch all took part at Rio 2016.

Freya Anderson, Kieran Bird, Kathleen Dawson, Tom Dean, Greenbank, Anna Hopkin, Calum Jarvis, Dan Jervis, Harriet Jones, Joe Litchfield, Jacob Peters, Matthew Richards, Alys Thomas, Sarah Vasey, Jacob Whittle, Wilby, Cassie Wild, Brodie Williams, Alicia Wilson and Abbie Wood are those named in an Olympic team for the first time.

Mark England, Team GB chef de mission for Tokyo 2020, congratulated all those who had been selected.

He said: “In the space of less than a week, we have seen the number of Team GB athletes selected for Tokyo jump from 40 to 74, which is incredibly exciting and demonstrates just how much the momentum is growing as we edge closer to 23 July.

“The quality of this team is exceptionally high and the recent selection trials illustrated how dedicated each swimmers has been to earning their selection for Tokyo throughout what has undoubtedly been a very challenging period.

“Congratulations to everyone and we look forward to watching you all in action in Tokyo.”

Chris Spice, British Swimming performance director and swimming team leader for Tokyo, said: “What an amazing week of racing we just witnessed at the iconic London Aquatic Centre.

Future selections

“We had several stand out performances and personal bests at every turn.

“We have more than 40 per cent athletes on the team that were not with us at our last World Championships in 2019 which demonstrates the outstanding work coaches and support staff across Britain have done in keeping these athletes training to the highest levels in very challenging circumstances during the last 18 months.

“Of course, our work has only just begun and we now turn our attention to swimming faster in the summer, which I know every athlete on this team is capable of.

“If we do this, I am sure we can have a very successful Tokyo Games.”

Further swimmers may be added to the team in June following performances at the European Championships and other identified meets, with a primary focus on bolstering the potential for relay medals.

The final qualifying event for the Marathon Swim will take place from 19-20 June in Setubal, Portugal, with any athletes who qualify to be named in the weeks following.

The Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games take place from Friday 23 July to Sunday 8 August with nine days of swimming action beginning on Saturday 24 July.

The Great Britain team

  • Freya Anderson – Upton (The Wirral), Bath National Centre
  • Kieran Bird – Bicester, Bath National Centre
  • Kathleen Dawson – Warrington, University of Stirling
  • Tom Dean – Maidenhead, Bath National Centre
  • Luke Greenbank – Cockermouth, Loughborough National Centre
  • James Guy – Bury, Bath National Centre
  • Anna Hopkin – Chorley, Loughborough National Centre
  • Calum Jarvis – Wadebridge, Bath National Centre
  • Dan Jervis – Neath, City of Swansea Aquatics Club
  • Harriet Jones – Cardiff, City of Cardiff
  • Joe Litchfield – Pontefract, Loughborough National Centre
  • Max Litchfield – Pontefract,  Loughborough National Centre
  • Ross Murdoch – Balloch, University of Stirling
  • Adam Peaty – Uttoxeter, Loughborough National Centre
  • Jacob Peters – Poole, Bath National Centre
  • Ben Proud – London, Plymouth Leander
  • Molly Renshaw – Mansfield, Loughborough National Centre
  • Matthew Richards – Droitwich, Bath National Centre
  • Duncan Scott – Glasgow, University of Stirling
  • Alys Thomas – Swansea, City of Swansea Aquatics Club
  • Sarah Vasey – Derby, Loughborough National Centre
  • Jacob Whittle – Alfreton, Derventio Excel
  • James Wilby – York, Loughborough National Centre
  • Cassie Wild – Chester, University of Stirling
  • Brodie Williams – Street, Bath National Centre
  • Aimee Willmott – Middlesborough, University of Stirling
  • Alicia Wilson – Tadworth, Guildford City
  • Abbie Wood – Buxton, Loughborough National Centre