Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

Young British divers to begin quest for European Junior Championships glory

A team of 18 young British divers are to begin their quest for international honours at the 2019 LEN European Junior Diving Championships.

It is the largest number of competitors that Great Britain has sent to the European Junior Diving Championships, which are taking place at the Aquatics Palace, Kazan, Russia, from Monday 24 June to Sunday 30 June.

More than 170 athletes from 25 countries are competing in the event, with Great Britain the largest team in attendance.

The championships are open to two age groups – category A is for those aged 16-18 years and category B 14-15 years.

Individual and synchronised events are held in the 1m and 3m Springboard and 10m Platform, while there is also a team competition.

Great Britain’s European Junior Diving Championships team:

  • Ben Cutmore A Boys Platform Synchro and Team
  • Aidan Heslop A Boys Platform, 3m Synch
  • Lucas Thomson A Boys Platform, Platform Synch
  • Oliver Crompton A Boys 1m, 3m & 3m Synchro and Team
  • Cameron Gammage A Boys 1m & 3m
  • Maria Papworth A Girls 3m, 3m Synchro
  • Scarlett Mew Jensen A Girls 3m Synchro
  • Emily Martin A Girls Platform & Platform Synchro
  • Josie Zillig A Girls Platform
  • Leon Baker B Boys 1m & 3m
  • Nathan Bull B Boys 1m & 3m
  • Euan McCabe B Boys Platform
  • Milo French B Boys Platform
  • Callie Eaglestone B Girls 3m
  • Richelle Houlden B Girls 1m
  • Andrea Spendolini Sirieix B Girls Platform & Platform Synchro
  • Chloe Johnson B Girls Platform
  • Desharne Bent Ashmeil B Girls 1m, 3m and team

Last year, Great Britain returned from the championships, in Helsinki, Finland, with a total of 10 medals – two of them gold.

Tyler Humphreys and Ben Cutmore topped the podium in the B 1m Springboard and B 10m Platform respectively. 

Team GB warmed up for the 2019 championships with a training day at the London Aquatics Centre before travelling to Russia.

The athletes are supported by seven backroom staff – Sam Buck (Dive London), Lindsay Fraser (Southampton Diving Academy), Sally Freeman (Plymouth Diving), Xinde Zhang (Crystal Palace Diving Club), Julian Bellan (British Diving), Suzie Collins (Swim England) and Camila Smee (physiotherapist).