Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

Athletes take on the World Masters

The FINA World Masters Championships (5 – 16 August) got underway in Kazan, Russia on Wednesday, taking place alongside the FINA World Championships for the first time.

The championships bring together five aquatic disciplines: swimming, open water swimming, diving, synchronised swimming and water polo. English swimmers and divers will be hoping to build on the success of the synchro team over the rest of the championships.

On the first day of competition, Margaret Hamerton finished third in both the 60-69yrs Solo Technical and Solo Free routines, while Reading Royals’ Andrea Holland placed fourth and fifth in her respective 50-59yrs Solo Free and Technical routines.

Hamerton finished second alongside her teammate Gaye Greely in both the 50-59yrs Duet Technical and Free routines with fellow Brighton Dolphins Liz Fitzsimmons and Vikki Gimson third.

The synchronised swimming competition closes today with the Team Technical and Free routines as well as the Free Combination routine.

Tony Cherrington, a silver medallist in the 70-74yrs 3km Open Water at the 2014 championships, competes in today’s 3km open water and will then return to the pool on 10 August for the start of the swimming events in Kazan.

Spencer Swim Team’s Cherrington has proved he is in good form ahead of the championships and was part of the Gloucester quartet who set a British mixed 4x200m Freestyle Relay record in the 240+ yrs age group, at the 2015 British Masters and Senior Age Group Championships.

At last year’s FINA World Masters Championships, Diane Ford (Rushmoor Royal’s) claimed the 50m, 100m and 200m breaststroke clean sweep in the 70-74yrs age group and will head into the championships on top of the all-time rankings in 2014 in the 100m Breaststroke

Trafford Metro’s Emma Gage also heads to Russia after a strong performance in Manchester last month, where she set a new British Record for the Women’s 25-29yrs 50m Fly.

The full list of aquatics athletes competing at the FINA World Masters Championships 2015 in Kazan:

Synchro (5 – 7 August)

  • Margaret Hamerton – Brighton Dolphin SC
  • Elizabeth Fitzsimons – Brighton Dolphin SC
  • Victoria Gimson – Brighton Dolphin SC
  • Gaye Greely – Brighton Dolphin SC
  • Andrea Holland – Reading Royals SSC

Open Water Swimming (7 August)

  • Stuart McLellan – Sudbury & District SC
  • Tony Cherrington – Spencer Swim Team
  • Phillips Bennett – Otter SC
  • Rosalind Johnson – Maidenhead SC
  • Adam Warner – Hillingdon Swimming Club
  • Nicholas Hunt – Chlemsford SC Ltd.

Swimming (10 – 16 August)

  • Guy Emerson – Amersham SC
  • Gareth Fowler – Amersham SC
  • Claire Richardson – Barnstaple SC
  • Joanna Meggitt – Basildon and Phoenix SC
  • Claire Boston – Basildon and Phoenix SC
  • Spyrakis Georgallides – Birmingham Masters
  • Claire Willison – Bognor Regis SC
  • Alice Lane – Boldmere SC
  • Lisa Trussler – Braunstone SC
  • Derek Parr – Broomfield Park SC
  • Lynne Dawson – Chapeltown
  • Nicholas Hunt – Chelmsford SC Ltd.
  • Derek Gore – Chelmsford SC Ltd.
  • Christopher Thorp – City of Derby Swimming Club
  • Verity Dobbie – Consett SC
  • Ian Ruddle – Darlington Dolphin Masters SC
  • Hanna Dabbour – East Anglian Swallow Tails
  • Jane Taylor – East Anglian Swallow Tails
  • Claire Gilchrist – East Anglian Swallow Tails
  • David Cumming – Eastbourne SC
  • Adam Warner – Hillingdon Swimming Club
  • Rosalind Johnson – Maidenhead ASC
  • Wade Rimbach – Otter SC
  • Phillip Bennett – Otter SC
  • Masai Zebe-Chaka – Plymouth Leander SC
  • Jade Perry – Rochford & District SC
  • Ross Turner – Rugby SC
  • Christopher Jessup – Salisbury Stingrays ASC
  • Janet Masters – South Beds Masters Swimming Club
  • Niger Salsbury – Spencer Swim Team
  • Diane Ford – Spencer Swim Team
  • Jean Howard-Jones – Spencer Swim Team
  • Esther Iseppi – Spencer Swim Team
  • Ivan Nechuanaev – Spencer Swim Team
  • Tony Cherrington – Spencer Swim Team
  • Amanda Heath – Spencer Swim Team
  • Stuart McLellan – Sudbury & District SC
  • Steven Folsom – Teddington SC
  • Emma Gage – Trafford Metro Bor SC
  • Graeme Milne – Truro City SC
  • Melanie Chapman – UAE City of Norwich SC
  • Nicholas Hope – Wigan SC
  • Johanna Ueckermann – Witham Dolphins SC

Diving (12 – 14 August)

  • Nicholas Daines – Beaumont Diving Academy
  • Peter Jewell – Dacorum Diving Club
  • Jennifer Cluskey – Southend Diving Club
  • Marion Aldous – Southend on Sean SC