Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

Yorkshire defend title again at County Team Championships

Yorkshire have defended their Division One title at Swim England National County Team Championships for the third year running.

They were just shy of the 500 point mark with a score of 497. Second place went to Scotland West who finished 66 points behind on 431 points and Devon finished third with 427 points.

The champions closed the day on a high note winning the Mixed 6x50m Freestyle Team race and taking their race win tally up to six. They clocked 2:32.20 ahead of Scotland East who finished in a time of 2:33.42.

Third place went to Kent with a time of 2:34.74.

James Spencer, Yorkshire head coach, said: “It was a brilliant day. It was very close early doors – I think we were only leading by about 10 points at the break.

“We had a little chat and the team really came together after. We just started pulling away with every single swim. Individuals, teams, fantastic.

“And the atmosphere is really brilliant to finish off the day.”

Two more relay top finishes

Yorkshire’s team were strong in the Boys’ 14-15 years 200m Medley Team and they finished almost three seconds clear of the rest of the field.

They touched home 2.9 seconds ahead of Scotland West in a time of 1:45.72, while third place went to Northamptonshire (1:48.80).

Again Yorkshire’s team work pulled off in one of the last races of the day.

The Girls’ 16-17 years 200m Medley team won the White Rose’s fifth and penultimate first place finish, clocking 1:55.81.

Devon, who made a strong start to the day and were in the lead for a large portion of the early session, clocked 1:57.23 to finish second.

Somerset put in a strong performance to finish third in a time of 1:57.43.

The winning Yorkshire squad included:

  • Abigail Miles
  • Annabelle Wilkinson
  • Archie Dunne
  • Avril Bowler
  • Cameron Green
  • Cameron Green
  • Charlie Brown
  • Charlotte Robinson
  • Chloe Hirst
  • Ciara Schlosshan
  • Clementine Lovel
  • Cohen Stephenson
  • Curtis Harper
  • Ellie Walker
  • Elliott Watkins
  • Eugene Brooks-Clarke
  • Grace Conroy
  • Hermione Roe
  • Hermione Roe
  • Isobel Hextall
  • Jacob Grierson
  • Jake Lambert
  • Jason Robson
  • Jonathan Milner
  • Jonathan Milner
  • Lily Boseley
  • Ned Sharp
  • Rebecca Clynes
  • Reuben Visda
  • Tia Ward