Butt and Hibbott win double gold on day three

24th July 2012

Suleman Butt and Holly Hibbott starred with double gold on day three at the 2012 British Gas ASA National Age Group Championships in Sheffield.

The boys 14 years 400m Freestyle final opened the night. Aberdeen’s swimmer Suleman Butt stormed to the gold medal with a time of 4:03.46. Martyn Walton (Hatfield) claimed the silver medal (4:11.02). Jorgos Skotadis (Camden Swiss) secured the bronze medal in 4:12.65.

In the boys 11/12 years 400m Freestyle final, Nathan Hughes (Hatfield) claimed competition gold and a personal best (4:23.96). City of Birmingham’s swimmer Benjamin Stanford took the silver medal (4:26.23) just in front of George Taplin (Hillingdon) who took the bronze medal in 4:26.33.

City of Sheffield’s swimmer Samuel Budd sealed the gold medal smashing his personal best in the boys 13 years 400m Freestyle final (4:12.50). Jamie O’Connor (Thanet Swim) took the silver medal in 4:17.21. The bronze medal went to Joshua Laisequilla (Hamilton UAE) in a time of 4:19.18.

The fourth final of the night was the girls 11/12 years 200m Freestyle final. Holly Hibbott (Southport) proved to be the star of the show once again taking the gold medal and clocking a personal best (2:08.70). The silver medal went to Irelands Rachel Bethel (2:10.23). TeamIpswich swimmer Rebecca Sherwin claimed the bronze medal in 2:11.10.

It was a close call for the top three in the girls 13 years 200m Freestyle final. Wirral Metro’s swimmer Isobel Thwaite triumphed again taking the gold medal with a time of 2:07.28. Thwaite just pipped Gloucester’s Sophie Hall who touched for silver in 2:08.34. City of Sheffield’s Emily Longstone clinched the bronze medal in 2:09.56.

Luke Gunning (Beckenham) and Luke Greenback (Cockermouth) swam neck and neck in the boys 14 years 200m Butterfly final. Gunning just managed to touch in front of Greenback in podium position with a time of 2:06.45. Gunning secured his silver medal in 2:07.87. The bronze medal went to B.E.S.T. swimmer Ryan Brown (2:10.01).

The boys 11/12 years 200m Backstroke final saw Stockport Metro’s swimmer Dylan Arzoni swim to gold in 2:19.87. The silver medal went to Irelands Conor Ferguson in a time of 2:20.02. Ciaran Burke (Connacht IRL) sealed the bronze medal just shy of Ferguson in 2:20.20.

It was an exciting race all round in the boys 13 years 200m Backstroke final, Carnegie’s swimmer Craig Mclean 2:15.59 charged to the gold medal in a time of 2:15.59. It couldn’t have been any tighter between the silver and bronze medallists. Doncaster Dartes swimmer Alex Pollard (2:17.09) took silver just 0.01 seconds ahead of bronze medallist Henry Chesterman (Teddington, 2:17.10).

The girls 14 years 200m Breaststroke final saw Seagulls swimmer Jessie Foster take podium position in a time of 2:37.13. The silver medal went to Aquabears swimmer Katie McCarthy (2:38.26). City of Guildford’s swimmer Lucy Bean clutched the bronze medal (2:39.62).

Suleman Butt (Aberdeen) sealed his second gold of the night in the boys 14 years 100m Freestyle final (52.61). Closely behind was Martyn Walton (Hatfield) who took the silver medal in a time of 52.91. Severnside’s swimmer Edward Walsh captured the bronze medal in 54.18.

Southport’s Holly Hibbott won her second gold of the night in the girls 11/12 years 200m Butterfly final (2:22.30). It was a close call for the silver and bronze medal with 0.03 seconds in it. City of Peterborough’s Katherine Brown sealed the silver medal in a time of 2:25.56. Kirsty Armstrong (B.E.S.T.) took the bronze medal (2:25.59).

The girls 13 years 200m Butterfly final saw Colchester’s swimmer Laura Stephens win the title (2:19.47). Sophie Waller (East Invicta eXcel) gained the silver medal in 2:23.13. Ealing’s Lucy Thornton claimed bronze finishing just behind Waller in a time of 2:23.64.

The girls 14 years 100m Butterfly final saw some serious competition from our athletes. It was City of Leicester’s swimmer Harriet West who secured victory (1:03.23). Brearnna Close (City of Manchester Aquatics) landed herself in the medals again taking silver with a time of 1:03.26. The bronze medal went to Ireland’s swimmer Clodagh Flood (1:03.35).

The boys 14 years 200m IM final saw Hatfield’s swimmer Martyn Walton take to the medal stage once again clinching gold in 2:10.18. The silver medal went to David Richardson (Warrington Warriors, 2:11.88). Cockermouth’s Luke Greenback saw his second medal of the night taking bronze in 2:13.53.

The boys 4x200m Freestyle final was the last race of the night. Thanet Swim team came out on top. Swimmers Ben Evans, Jamie O'Connor, Harry Bradford andAlexander Wilmshurst won gold in 8:12.89. City of Sheffield swimmers, Blake Bennett, Cian Senior, Samuel Budd and Alexander Haines took the silver medal clocking home in 8:13.52. The bronze medal went to the City of Derby swimmers Edward Martin, Matthew Wood, Daniel Johnson and Ryan Reader (8:13.97).

Sign up to the ASA School Swimming Charter. We're taking swimming seriously, are you? Purchase today IoS Training For Level 2 Teaching Qualifications Baby Swimming Lesson Guidelines - Parents