Adam Peaty aims to use ‘exciting’ ISL as stepping stone to rearranged Olympics

Adam Peaty says the return of the International Swimming League (ISL) will be a nice stepping stone to the rearranged Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

World record holder Peaty will once again compete for London Roar in season two of the ISL, which will be held behind closed doors in Hungary before a finale in Tokyo.

He is one of 18 English elite swimmers involved in the 10-team competition, which will be the first major swimming event to be held since the coronavirus lockdown.

Qualifying races will take place in Budapest from 16 October, with the top eight then competing in semi-finals between 19-22 November.

The finals are due to take place in Tokyo on a date to be arranged in December.

Olympic gold medallist Peaty said: “I just want to say how much I am looking forward to season two of the ISL.

“If it goes by the standard of the first season, it’s going to be incredible – not only for the athletes but the fans, the coaches, the event staff and the people that make it all happen.

“For me, the ISL is a new breath of life into the sport where it’s very competitive, very short and people can engage with the racing and the competition and can see what’s going on behind the scenes.

Great opportunity

“I’m missing my London Roar team mates. You get to meet a lot of athletes and it’s really bringing the world together in such an amazing way.

“Everyone’s lives have changed this year due to Covid-19. One thing people have missed is sport and it’s a great opportunity for the ISL to get everyone together in the same camp doing loads of matches.

“It’s a nice stepping stone into the Olympics next year and it’s going to be really, really exciting joining my team again in Budapest.”

Other English swimmers joining Peaty in the London Roar team – whose head coach is Mel Marshall – are Siobhan-Marie O’Connor, Holly Hibbott, James Guy, Freya Anderson, Tom Dean, Luke Greenbank, Anna Hopkin and Aimee Willmott.

Ben Proud, Max Litchfield and Imogen Clark are part of the French-based team Energy Standard, while Sarah Vasey, Abbie Wood, Joe Litchfield and James Wilby are members of the NY Breakers.

Jocelyn Ulyett and Jay Lelliott have been signed up by Canda’s Toronto Titans.

The other teams taking part in the ISL are Aqua Centurions, Italy, Cali Condors, USA, DC Trident, USA, Iron, Hungary, LA Current, USA, and Tokyo Frog Kings, Japan.

Energy Standard were the winners of the first ISL competition last year.