British records for Ben Proud and Imogen Clark on day one

The final events of the day saw Imogen Clark and Ben Proud break two long standing British records in emphatic style and Loughborough University set a Club record in the team relay event.

Day one finals: Men’s 50m Freestyle

Ben Proud (Plymouth Leander) stormed to victory in the 50m Freestyle, touching the wall in 20.74 and breaking Mark Foster’s 14 year-old British record.

Speaking after the race, a delighted Proud said: “I’m really pleased. This morning I swam a 22 so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect tonight but I felt really fast and I was just trying to think about getting all the detail right.

“As soon as I nailed my turn, I knew it was going to be a fast swim but I didn’t think it would be sub 21 seconds.”

Loughborough University’s Andrew Weatheritt who led the way following this morning’s heats took silver in 21.55, while Lewis Clifford-Stephenson (Killerwhales) rounded off the top three with bronze in a time of 21.92.

Pioneer’s Benjamin Martin took junior gold in 23.67 with Hatfield’s Harry Constantine (23.90) and Woking’s Ewan Smith (23.97) taking junior silver and bronze respectively.

Day one finals: Women’s 50m Breaststroke

After setting a strong benchmark in this morning’s heats, Imogen Clark, broke the oldest women’s British short course record in the history books during tonight’s final. The 16-year-old Derventio swimmer excelled throughout the race, touching the wall in 30.02 to secure gold.

City of Derby’s Sarah Vasey took silver in a personal best time of 30.47 while bronze went to Corrie Scott (Edinburgh University) in 30.92. Hong Kong’s Yvette Man-Yi Kong received a commemorative bronze medal after touching the wall in 30.84.

Ellesmere College’s Freya Anderson won junior gold in 32.10 while Jane Brown (Newcastle) took silver in 32.76. Victoria Russell (Plymouth Leander) was third in 32.84.

Day one finals: Men’s 100m Breaststroke

Loughborough University’s Richard Spoor dipped under 59 seconds for the first time in tonight’s final, touching the wall in 58.67 to take gold.

City of Oxford’s David Murphy was right on Spoor’s heels over the final 25 metres of the race but settled for second in 59.54, while Putteridge’s Lawrence Palmer took third in 59.89.

Murphy’s teammates Connor Bryan and Callum Smart took junior gold and silver in 1:03.92 and 1:04.23 with bronze going to City of Derby’s Gregory Butler in 1:04.54.

Day one finals: Men’s 200m IM

Millfield’s Tristan Slater held on to his early lead to touch just outside his personal best in 1:57.69 to take gold.

Silver went to City of Derby’s Braddan Westlake in 1:59.69, while Joseph Hulme (Bath University) added to his medal haul from earlier in the evening with bronze in 1:59.47.

Nathan Hughes (Hatfield) won junior gold in 2:04.02, while silver and bronze went to Maidenhead’s Thomas Dean (2:07.43) and City of Salford’s Matthew George (2:07.45).

Day one finals: Women’s 200m Butterfly

Bath University’s Jemma Lowe led all the way in the Women’s 200m Butterfly final, taking gold in 2:04.40, just one second outside her lifetime best.

Speaking after the race, Lowe said: “That was a much better race than in this morning’s heats. After the qualifying race, my coach said I had a lot more to give and he was right.

“In this event, I definitely prefer short course to long course because with long course I’m never quite sure if I am going to finish strong. I’m a lot more confident in short course. I’m looking forward to the 50 and 100 Fly now!”

Aimee Willmott won her second medal of the night as she touched the wall second in a time of 2:08.13 to take silver, while Billingham’s Stephanie Blakeburn posted a new personal best of 2:08.51 for bronze.

Emily Large (Newcastle) won junior gold in 2:12.17 with Tazmin Pugh taking junior silver in 2:12.54 and City of Birmingham’s Caitlin Hubbard winning bronze in 2:13.92.

Day one finals: Men’s 4x100m Medley Team

It was all about Loughborough University in the Men’s 4x100m Medley Team final with the quartet leading from the start and setting a new British Club record of 3:31.24 to take gold.

Silver went to Bath University A team in 3:31.65 while Edinburgh University took bronze in 3:34.22.