Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

Marshall and McNulty among British swimming coaches for Tokyo 2020

Mel Marshall and David McNulty will lead a team of eight coaching staff to support Great Britain’s athletes at the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo.

The lead coaches at the National Centres for Swimming in Loughborough and Bath both have strong pedigree on the world stage, having previously led athletes to Olympic medals.

Marshall coached Adam Peaty to gold in the 100m breaststroke at Rio 2016, while McNulty has enjoyed Olympic success with Joanne Jackson, Michael Jamieson, Jazz Carlin and Chris Walker-Hebborn.

The pair will be joined in Tokyo by fellow coaches Dave Hemmings, Jol Finck and Steve Tigg, who were all part of British Swimming’s successful team at the 2019 FINA World Championships.

That group will be supported by Euan Dale and Lisa Bates, while Hayley Baker will assist Great Britain’s open water swimmers.

Laying foundations for success

British Swimming Head Coach, Bill Furniss, said: “I would like to congratulate the eight coaches we are nominating to the British Olympic Association to work with our Olympic team.

“All have come through a tough selection process and proved their ability to deliver results in the performance arena.

“The early appointment of our coaching staff follows the pattern established in the last Olympic cycle.

“The coaches will now be an integral part of team development activity as they build relationships with the athletes at camps and competitions in the lead up to the Olympic Games.”

In addition, Chris Spice, Furniss and Dawn Peart have been rewarded for their efforts at Rio 2016, returning to their roles as Team Leader, Head Coach and Team Manager respectively.

Coaches nominated by British Swimming for Tokyo 2020


  • David McNulty – National Centre Bath
  • Melanie Marshall – National Centre Loughborough
  • Steven Tigg – University of Stirling
  • David Hemmings – National Centre Loughborough
  • Jolyon Finck – National Centre Bath

Support coaches

  • Euan Dale – Millfield School
  • Lisa Bates – Chelsea and Westminster Swimming Club

Marathon coach

  • Hayley Baker – Swansea Aquatics