Have your say - Join our Online Community and help make a difference

Charlotte Wynne-Jones seals butterfly gold on day two

The concluding events of the day two finals saw some hotly contested races in the 200m Freestyle finals, and Charlotte Wynne-Jones swim a new lifetime best in the 12/13yrs 100m Butterfly.

A strong final 50 metres from Wynne-Jones saw the Bicester swimmer move through the ranks touching the wall in 1:05.21 to win gold.

City of Leeds’ Tia Ward won her second medal of the night, touching the wall in 1:05.54 to take silver, while Stockport Metro’s Rebecca Pearson took bronze in 1:06.50.

Rotherham’s Debbie Cocking extended her lead in the final 25 metres of the 14yrs 100m Butterfly to win gold in 1:04.72. Silver went to Pioneer 79 swimmer Elodie Smallwood in 1:06.07 while Aquae Sulis swimmer Laura McNab posted a time of 1:06.15 to take bronze.

After going out fast in the Women’s 15yrs 100m Butterfly, Lucy Famer (City of Milton Keynes) dug deep in the final metres of the race to take gold in 1:04.81. Weston’s Megan Richards took silver in 1:05.20 fingertips ahead of City of Leicester’s Milly Scotchbrook who touched the wall in 1:05.25 for bronze.

Lincoln’s Abigail Burr looked comfortable as she posted a time of 1:03.49 to take gold in the 16/17yrs 100m Butterfly ahead of silver medallist Megan Morrison (City of Leicester) in 1:02.71 and bronze medallist Freya Rayner (City of Sunderland) in 1:03.78.

Loughborough University’s Sophie Simpson showed her strength in the closing stages of the 18yrs+ final, pulling away from the field to take gold in 1:03.47 with Satellite’s Charlotte Taylor second in 1:03.70 and Cosacss swimmer Lauren Pate touching the wall in 1:04.04 for third.

Men’s 200m Freestyle

A determined swim over the final 50 metres of the race saw Hatfield’s Reese Housden take gold in the Men’s 12/13yrs 200m Freestyle in 2:02.99. Romford Town’s James Cooper was second in 2:04.26 while City of Leicester’s James Newman posted a time of 2:05.27 for third.

There were five swimmers shoulder to shoulder heading into the final 50 metres of the 14yrs 200m Freestyle but it was Leinster’s Cathal Kearney who found an extra gear to touch first in 2:02.23. Bournemouth College’s Benjamin Samuel posted a new lifetime best of 2:03.51 to become ASA National Champion, while Gloucester’s Edwards Maddocks and Plymouth Leander’s Adam Davies took silver (2:03.91) and bronze (2:05.40) respectively.

In the 15yrs 200m Freestyle, Kearney’s Leinster teammate Ciann O’Keefe-Tighe was the only swimmer under the 2 minute mark touching the wall first in 1:59.62. Local City of Sheffield swimmer Ellis Simpkin was crowned ASA National Champion after setting a new lifetime best of 2:00.70 to touch second. Brighton’s Harry Stacey touched in 2:01.00 for silver with Enfield’s Reece Nicholls taking bronze in 2:01.75.

The race for gold in the 16/17yrs 200m Freestyle went right down to the wire with Nathan Wells and James Gillie separated by only 0.02 seconds. West Norfolk’s Wells was able to find the wall first to top the podium in 1:53.98, his second gold medal of the championships. Dulwich Dolphins’ Gillie took silver in 1:54.00 and Basildon’s George Epsly took bronze in 1:55.05

“It was unreal. I was not expecting to win at all,” said Wells. “I was seeded 14th into the qualifying heats, so to take gold in the end is incredible.”

There was an equally tight finish in the 18yrs+ final with Newcastle’s Thomas Howley taking gold on the touch in 1:52.10. City of Leicester’s Jack Warren-Ballard won silver in 1:52.13, while Hatfield’s Joshua Duggan rounded out the top three winning bronze in 1:53.47.