Dead heat as Jennifer fights back to share gold in 200m Individual Medley

Swimming News

Jennifer Green produced a tremendous fightback as the Swim England National Summer Meet Women’s 15 Years 200m Individual Medley finished in a tie.

The Wigan BEST swimmer trailed RTW Monson’s Rose Compton by more than three seconds after 100m but they shared the gold medal after finishing in 2:24.04.

Portsmouth’s Kate Baxter was the bronze medallist in a time of 2:25.72.

There was also a tie for second place in the 14 Years event.

City of Birmingham’s Millie Checkley touched home 0.83 seconds ahead of the runners-up to take the gold medal in 2:26.34.

The silver medal went to Bishop Stortford’s Millie Fields and Central Beds Swim Squad’s Imogen Lambert who both finished in a time of 2:27.17.

In the 12-13 Years race, Leah Schlosshan won by more than a second.

The City of Leeds swimmer touched home first in 2:26.16, with Bassetlaw’s Izzy Hobson-Corbett second in a time of 2:27.24.

Nova Centurion’s Livia Kingsland was the bronze medal winner in 2:27.35.

Abbie Bowden produced a brilliant last 50m swim to win the 16 Years race.

The KingstonHull swimmer was 1.53 seconds behind Ellesmere College’s Maia Hall after 150m but finished 1.33 seconds clear in 2:22.91 to take the gold medal.

Hall finished in 2:24.24, with City of Manchester Aquatic’s Emma Dickson third in 2:24.97.

Guildford’s Rosanna Arnold had the 17 Years and over field trailing in her wake.

She won by a comfortable 3.43 seconds in a time of 2:19.41 to take the gold medal.

Mount Kelly’s Katelyn Bergin was the silver medallist in 2:22.84, with City of Milton Keynes’ Aiyana Lawson a second further back in 2:23.84.

Men’s 200 Individual Medley

Archie Plowman clawed back a deficit of 1.47 seconds to take gold in the Men’s 17 Years race.

After 100m, the Northampton swimmer was trailing Warrington’s Alex Watkinson.

But Plowman stormed back to take the gold medal in a time of 2:08.13 – 0.51 seconds ahead of Watkinson who clocked 2:08.64.

Miles Drabwell, City of Milton Keynes, was third in 2:10.06.

In the 13-14 Years race, City of Liverpool’s Tyriese Smith was victorious in a time of 2:15.72.

Rafe Dobson, City of Milton Keynes, was the silver medallist in 2:17.42, with Wantage’s Sunni Johnson third in a time of 2:17.65.

Jacob Armon won another commemorative gold in the 15 Years race.

The Seals RSA swimmer finished first in 2:11.12, 3.51 seconds ahead of Lincoln’s Ethan Grace-Riches, who claimed the Swim England National Summer Meet gold.

Dulwich Dolphins’ Theodore Thompson took the silver in 2:15.20, with Joshua Press, City of Milton Keynes, the bronze medallist in 2:15.27.

In the 16 Years event, Thanet Swim’s Kieran Dale touched home just ahead of City of Derby’s Luke Skelding.

Dale was the gold medalist in a time of 2:12.24, with Skelding having to settle for silver after recording 2:12.59.

Amersham’s Jamie Owen won the bronze medal in 2:14.03.

Warrington’s Matthew Dornville triumphed in the 18 Years race in a time of 2:03.75.

He was 0.35 seconds in front of Kvik Kastrup’s Jacob M Joergensen who claimed a commemorative silver medal.

Loughborough University’s Joshua Thompson won the Summer Meet silver in a time of 2:06.60, while Matthew Evans, City of Manchester Aquatics, clocked 2:08.04 to take the bronze.