Swim England Junior Squad to gain ‘valuable experience’ at Edinburgh meet

A team of 35 Swim England juniors will gain ‘valuable experience’ racing against some of the biggest names in the sport at the Edinburgh International Swim Meet.

Olympic champions Adam Peaty, Tom Dean, James Guy, Anna Hopkin, Duncan Scott, Kathleen Dawson and a host of other Tokyo 2020 and international medallists have all entered the three-day competition, which begins at the Royal Commonwealth Pool on Friday 11 March.

Among the 76 clubs and teams taking part is the Swim England Junior Squad, who will use the event as a key stepping stone to major international events.

Richard Blackshaw, Swim England head of swimming talent, said it was a ‘key environment’ for the team.

“Competitions such as the Edinburgh International Swim Meet will give this talented young group some valuable experience,” he said.

“It’s an opportunity for them to compete against some very experienced, international swimmers and that can only be a good thing as part of their development.

Help prepare them

“They will have a full complement of sports science and sports medicine staff to support them and competing in this environment is key for the junior squad and will help prepare them on their journey for the European juniors, World Junior Championships and senior British teams.

“We delivered a number of workshops last December regarding competition behaviours, nutrition, race processes, S&C and sports psychology specific to improving performance.

“We’re looking forward to seeing how they imbed that in their preparation this weekend and how they get on.”

Heats take place each day at 8.30am and 12.30pm with the finals on Friday and Saturday commencing at 5.30pm and on Sunday at 5pm

The action is being live streamed here and updates throughout the weekend will also be published on swimming.org and the Swim England social media channels.

Swim England Junior Squad competing at the Edinburgh International Swim Meet

  • Henry Baker
  • May Bradburn
  • Lauren Bradley-Holt
  • Sophie Bromley
  • Iona Colbert
  • Alex Cooper
  • Evie Dilley
  • Isaac Dodds
  • Ella Dyson
  • William Ellington
  • Calvin Fry
  • Lucy Fox
  • Joshua Gammon
  • Reece Grady
  • Pierce Greening
  • James Hart
  • Lucy Hedley
  • Robbie Hemmings
  • Caitlin Lansom
  • Fleur Lewis
  • Erin Little
  • Reuben Rowbotham-Keating
  • Tom Sansome
  • Leah Schlosshan
  • George Smith
  • Megan Speirs
  • Lara Thomson
  • Tomas Trebilcock
  • Sam Van Der Stroom
  • Beatrice Varley
  • Kaiden Welsby
  • Joshua Weston
  • Jacob Whibley
  • Elliot Woodburn
  • Beth Young

Head coach

  • Mark Skimming


  • Rachel Aldington
  • Dan Cocking
  • Daniel Fogg
  • Roberto Pavoni
  • Dan Pilbrow
  • Mark Tanner

Sports science and sports medicine staff

  • Philippa Bailey
  • Tim Jarrett
  • Rebecca Rhodes
  • Craig Robertson
  • Laura Sandford
  • Alex Stoyel
  • Isabelle Wixcey