Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

Ellie Robinson leads charge at World Series in Denmark

Paralympic champion Ellie Robinson won four medals at the first Para Swimming World Series of 2018 in Copenhagen.

The Northampton Swimming Club 16-year-old (S6) struck gold in the 100m Freestyle and the 50m Butterfly, while she also won a silver in the 200m Freestyle and bronze in the 50m Freestyle.

It proved to be a successful event for English swimmers with a total of 18 medals won.

Louise Fiddes (S14) also returned with two golds following her victories in the 10m Butterfly and 200m Freestyle, while she also won silver in the 100m Breaststroke.

Other gold medallists were Tom Hamer (S14) in the 100m Freestyle, Lewis White (S9) in the 400m Freestyle and Megan Richter (S8) in the 100m Backstroke.

White also finished second in the 50m and 100m Freestyle races and Hamer claimed a silver in the 200m Freestyle.

Also returning home with silver medals were Maisie Summers-Newton (S6) in the 400m Freestyle and 200m Individual Medley and Jordan Catchpole (S14) in the 100m Backstroke.

Catchpole also finished third in the 100m Butterfly, while Richter added a bronze medal to her haul in the 50m Backstroke.

Ollie Hynd reclassified by IPC

During the event, Paralympic champion Ollie Hynd was reclassified from an S8 to S9 by the International Paralympic Committee (IPC).

The decision was protested by British Swimming but, after further testing, the reclassification stood. Hynd, 23, who has three Paralympic titles from London and Rio, will remain in the S8 classification for breaststroke events.

Ollie said: “Over the next few weeks, myself and the great team around me will be focusing on the performance framework that will give me continued success to Tokyo 2020 and beyond.”

Chris Furber, British Para-swimming National Performance Director, said: “It is clear that there will be challenges with this and we won’t know the full worldwide implications until maybe next year.

“However, we welcome anything which brings greater consistency to the classification process.”

Jonathan Fox, Matt Wylie and Jacob Leach were all due to be reassessed in Copenhagen but this will now take place at an event later in the year.