Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

England Programmes squad to compete at Golden Tour meet

Swimming News

The ASA England Programmes Swimming team has selected a squad of 29 swimmers to compete at the 6th Meeting Open Mediterranee in Marseille from the 3-5 March 2017.

The squad will travel with 13 staff members to gain experience racing against some of the best swimmers in Europe. The standard of the meet will be very high, and features a full Olympic swimming programme.

The swimmers will be expected to swim in multiple events so that they can prepare and practice their race plans. England Programmes Swimming are focussed on the athlete development. This meet forms part of the preparation and development for the British Championships in April and beyond to the summer focus meets.

Grant Robins, ASA England Programmes Swimming Lead, said: “This meet provides a great opportunity for swimmers to experience competing on the international stage and allows them to practice their plans for the new season.

“It also provides an excellent opportunity for the coaches who are travelling as part of the team. They will experience working with athletes and coaches they will not have worked with before.

“During the meet we will be encouraging and reinforcing the British Swimming Team Coaching philosophies and behaviours to assist the athletes with progressing in their swimming careers.”

England Programmes Swimming squad

  • Rachel Anderson (Millfield School)
  • Ceara Barber (Hillingdon)
  • Tatiana Belonogoff (Guildford)
  • Kieran Bird (Millfield School)
  • Lily Boseley (City of Sheffield Swim Squad)
  • Cameron Brooks-Clarke (City of Sheffield Swim Squad)
  • Lewis Burras (Hamilton Aquatics)
  • Rebecca Clynes (City of Leeds)
  • Kaylee Dekker (Mount Kelly)
  • Tegan Drew (Plymouth Leander)
  • Jakob Goodman (Millfield School)
  • Jacob Greenow (Taunton Deane)
  • Annabel Guye-Johnson (Royal Tunbridge Wells)
  • Elizabeth Harris (Stockport Metro)
  • Nathan McCleave (Dorking)
  • James Mcfadzen (Wycombe)
  • Pia Murray (Ellesmere College)
  • Samuel Osborne (City of Birmingham)
  • Amie Philpot (Ipswich)
  • Emilia Sansome (Wycombe)
  • Jamie Scholes (City of Peterborough)
  • Rebecca Sherwin (Ipswich)
  • Callum Smart (Oxford)
  • Ellinor Southward (Ellesmere College)
  • Oliver Taverner (Mount Kelly)
  • Joel Thompson (Shiverers)
  • Luke Turley (Hatfield)
  • Adam Wilson (Newcastle Swim Squad)
  • Jacob Peters (Poole)