Millfield win 2017 Arena League title in Cardiff

Millfield won 2017 Arena League Cup Final in Cardiff to lift the trophy for the first time in 12 years.

The South West region club scored 402 points from the 50 events to top the table ahead of defending champions Plymouth Leander (338) and hosts City of Cardiff (319).

The result brought Millfield their second title in the competition’s history, having won for the first time at Ponds Forge in 2005.

While seven of their race victories came in relays, another eight Millfield swimmers touched first in individual events.

Isabella Woollard lead the way with victory and a PB 33.99 in the 12/U 50m Back before Max McCusker followed up with a 55.94 effort to win the 100m Fly.

Yasmine Hamerlaine’s 1:07.32 PB was enough for another race win in the 14/U 100m Back before Emma Harvey (1:03.54) and Santos Villalon (56.87) took the girls’ and boys’ 16/U 100m Fly respectively.

Grace Olding was Millfield’s second race winner in the 12/U age group. Her PB of 37.11 in the 50m Breaststroke would also have won the boys’ event in the same age group.

Sean-Patrick McGowan touched first in the boys’ 14/U 100m Butterfly in 1:01.22 before Huw Williams took the 16/U 100m Freestyle in 54.53.

  • Click here for full results from the 2017 Arena League Cup Final

Ealing win 2017 Arena League ‘B’ Final

Ealing won the ‘B’ Final for their piece of Arena League silverware.

The London region club scored 337 points to finish ahead of Sevenoaks (311) and Thanet (309).

Anna Hopkin, fastest entry for the 50m Freestyle at this month’s British Championships, was among the race winners for Ealing. She took the open 100m Free in 55.79.

  • Click here for full results from the 2017 Arena League B Final