Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

Swim England selects 20 talented juniors for international competition in Nice

Twenty young swimmers have been selected to represent Swim England at the FFN Golden Tour in Nice.

The junior squad will face a strong challenge from the international field in France, from 7-9 February, with the annual meet acting as a valuable opportunity for English swimmers as they move towards senior competition.

The 2019 edition proved a great stepping stone for some of England’s most successful young swimmers of the year.

City of Coventry swimmer Lauren Cox won two silver medals, while Plymouth Leander’s Honey Osrin won bronze in the 200m Backstroke.

Kayla van der Merwe was selected as a wildcard in 2019, alongside Ed Mildred.

Winchester City Penguins’ van der Merwe just missed out on a podium finish in Nice, but went on to enjoy a career-best season.

The Swim England Swimming Talent Athlete of the Year won multiple international medals and made her senior debut for Great Britain.

Richard Blackshaw, Swim England national talent officer, said: “Being selected for the Swim England junior team to compete in Nice will provide the swimmers with valuable experience of competing abroad for their country.

“This will help them make a seamless transition from domestic competitions to the European Junior Championships and World Junior Championships.”

Twelve clubs will be represented in the 2020 squad, with the final places having been decided following the Swim England National Event Camps in December.

World Junior Championships representatives Charlotte Rigg, Pia Murray and Rachel Anderson have been selected, while Adam Metcalf, Harry Noble and Samuel Osborne will gain further international experience after representing Great Britain at the 2019 European Junior Championships.

Swim England squad for 2020 FFN Golden Tour – Nice

  • Adam Metcalf (Ellesmere College)
  • Alec White (Exeter City)
  • Angharad Evans (Ellesmere College)
  • Caroline Lewitt (Natare West London)
  • Charlotte Rigg (City of Birmingham)
  • Harry Noble (Mount Kelly)
  • Isabelle Goodwin (City of Leeds)
  • James Hart (Plymouth)
  • Jemima Hall (Wycombe District)
  • Macy Lawrence (Mount Kelly)
  • Michael Klimaszewski (Hatfield)
  • Pia Murray (Ellesmere College)
  • Pietro Forconi (Portsmouth)
  • Rachel Anderson (Millfield)
  • Robbie Jones (Mount Kelly)
  • Samuel Osborne (City of Birmingham)
  • Sophia Wilson (Millfield)
  • Sophie Maguire (Mid Sussex)
  • Thomas Watkin (Royal Wolverhampton)
  • William Ellington (Millfield)