Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

Stephen Clegg on top of the world after record-breaking swim at BPSIM

Stephen Clegg produced a blistering performance as he set a new world record on a successful final night of the British Para-Swimming International Meet.

The Sunderland ASC S12 swimmer claimed a World Para-Swimming World Series gold medal as he won the Men’s MC 100m Butterfly with 1,004 points after finishing in 56.75.

That shaved 0.61 seconds off his previous best and British record and also saw him break the world record of Russian Roman Makarov, which had stood since the Montreal World Championships in 2013, by 0.09 seconds.

Reece Dunn (S14) claimed the silver medal with 910 points after finishing in 56.19, while the S14 duo of Jack Milne and Rhys Davies finished sixth and seventh respectively.

Louise Fiddes achieved a Paralympic consideration time with a golden performance at Sheffield’s Ponds Forge.

The S14 swimmer put in an impressive performance in the Women’s MC 100m Butterfly as she picked up 850 points for her time of 1:07.21 to take the World Para-Swimming World Series gold medal by an impressive 119 points.

Silver and bronze for Tully and Hannah

Spain’s I Hernandez Santos (S10) was Fiddes’ closest challenger on 731 points after finishing in 1:09.49 – while Britain’s Toni Shaw (S9) took the bronze with a total of 724 after recording a time of 1:09.56.

Tully Kearney and Hannah Russell claimed a silver and bronze medal for Great Britain in the opening race of the last finals session.

The Women’s MC 50m Freestyle gold was won by Holland’s S4 swimmer Jonne Moleman, who earned 961 points for her time of 38.37.

That put her 13 points ahead of Kearney (S5), who clocked 36.52 for 948, with Russell (S12) third with a total of 920 after touching home in a Paralympic consideration time of 27.65.

In the Men’s MC 50m Freestyle, Britain’s Michael Jones (S7) and William Perry (S6) finished fifth and sixth respectively.

The race was won by Greece’s D Michalentzakis (S8) who scored 815 points for his time of 27.10 – only two points clear of Israel’s Ami Omer Dadaon (S4) who finished in 39.78.

Jones’s time of 30.75 resulted in him collecting 682 points, with Perry earning 659 after clocking 32.82.

Picture: British Swimming Twitter